Skip to content
As Seen On My Run!

05/21/2012

Um, so, I don’t think I am going to hit 100 planks this month. But I did see this on my run yesterday:

My inner nerd totally geeked out when I saw this! I truly thought my head and heart were going to explode!

And yes, I totally went back to get a book. That’s what cool downs are for–doubling back to Little Free Libraries!

But, uh, as for those planks… I don’t know what happened there. But as of May 20, I am only up to 39. That’s not very many, and if I knew how to accurately use the maths, I would tell you that that is an average of less than 2 a day! Uh… better luck in June?

[Insert clever transition here!]

I have another 5K coming up this weekend. I so totally don’t want to be one of those race whores (see: me in 2006) who toes the line every. single. weekend. Mostly because of my old lady hip situation but, also, I am not in the financial situation to run around packet pick-up making it rain.

Sneak peak at Sole Sista Sue, me, and Steph at the Marine Corps Marathon Expo in October! SPIbelts for everyone!

However, the Sunset House 5K is a full-circle thing for me. It will be a year this Saturday that we went hunting for our Canadian yurt. The first 2 houses we were seeing happened to be along a 5K course and we couldn’t get to them. My realtor was apologetic and lamely said “It’s marathon season in Rochester!” which almost made me fire him on the spot. The only thing worse than calling running “jogging” is to call 5K’s “marathons.” But instead I thought “If we move here, I am so running that race next year!” Well, we moved here, so on Friday I’ll head to registration/packet pick-up and toss a stack of singles in the air.

The start line is just over a mile from my house so I can do my warm-up to the race, which is very green of me (you’re welcome, Earth!). The course is a loop I run quite a bit, so when the race description says “flat” I know that that is lie! There will be one big downhill in the beginning and one big uphill towards the end. And after I cross the finish line, I won’t race again until… Thursday when Corporate Challenge comes to Rochester! Oops.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/21/2012 12:07 PM

    A post! Yay! That library is adorable and so cutesy, small town.

    • Suzanne permalink*
      05/21/2012 1:08 PM

      I know, I know! Since going back to work ft, I’ve been a MAJOR blog slacker.

  2. 05/21/2012 12:57 PM

    As a librarian, I approve!

    • Suzanne permalink*
      05/21/2012 1:07 PM

      You’re a librarian too?? Awesome!! Although I am currently “non-practicing,” I still like to talk about my DEGREE IN LIBRARY SCIENCE as if it makes me an actual scientist.

Leave a Reply

