Skip to content
Pink Ribbon Run Recap

05/14/2012

Yesterday Madylin and I ran the Pink Ribbon 5K Run along Ontario Beach (the American side, eh). This is the only ladies-only event in the area and all the money raised supports the Breast Cancer Coalition of Rochester. There were 1275 runners in the 5K and at least that many participants in the 2.5 mile walk. Not only did the event raise over $200,000 but it was an extraordinarily uplifting way to spend Mother’s Day morning. First, seeing so many strong, female athletes (role models) competing at one time is rare and sets a wonderful example for all the young girls there–including Madylin. And second, the sea of pink–shirts, headbands, shorts, skirts, socks, hats, bandanas–was a reminder that the fight against Breast Cancer rages on and we must continue to raise money and awareness to protect our sisters, moms, aunts, cousins, friends, coworkers, and neighbors from this horrible disease.

Got our pink on!

Mady and I got a ride to the beach from fellow Mother Runner, Martha and her friend Christine, and we met up with one of my coworkers from The Very Good Run Fast Shoppe. We had gotten there early so there was plenty of time for chit-chat before warm-ups and final potty pit stops. In honor of the occasion, I wore my new hot pink Zensah calf sleeves. Even though they got a lot of compliments from other runners, they made me really hot! Temps were cool in the low 50’s and I was SWEATING just standing around… although it could have been the casual conversation that was making me all clammy since I possess the skittish social graces of a jack rabbit.

Finally, Madylin and I started warming up. However, my hip was feeling a little Paris-Hilton-eye wonky and I didn’t want Mady to tire herself out so I decided the time would be better spent stretching (this turned out to be a smart decision because my hip felt amazing during the race). After I tucked Mady in near the 10:00 milers, I lined up near the front of the pack because I didn’t want to get boxed in and have to bob and weave for the first half mile. That typically happens to me at larger events like this and I end up expending a ton of extra energy with all that lateral bounding. Aside from some jostling (mostly by some young lunatic teenager dressed like a yellow highlighter), the start went smoothly and we headed up the path and out of the park.

In my mind the course was going to be pancake flat. Maybe because it started at the beach and I equate “beach” with the “South Shore of Long Island” where there are ZERO hills (sand dunes and parkway overpasses don’t count). However, once we entered the neighborhood, there were several rollers that took me by surprise. They weren’t challenging climbs but you still had to work at them a bit. The route was shaped like a lollipop and after I exited the turn-around loop, I headed back along the course. I saw Martha first and then a few moments later I spotted Madylin! I cheered and told her she was almost halfway there. She looked so cute!

Like Flower City, I had gone out a touch too fast but I was determined not to crash and burn like last time (you know, when I could have crab walked the last 1/4 mile faster than I ran it). I maintained my pace on the little ups and downs and was able to pass the woman who supervises the high schoole weight room and totally strikes me as a hard-core everything.

Took my Kinvara 3’s for their maiden voyage yesterday. Aren’t they sweet?

As we neared the entrance to the park, the course sloped downhill, but even with a forgiving decline I was starting to hurt. Luckily a male member of the race team was about 300 meters out from the finish line. His cheers and words of encouragement really helped me pick it up as two girls were trying to pass as we turned into the final straightaway. I held them off and crossed in 23:11–33 seconds faster than my Flower City time! But there was no time to pat myself on the back! I grabbed a bottle of water and went to find Madylin. MY HUSBAND, Sean, Amelia and I picked out a spot near the 3-mile mark to wait. As the minutes ticked by, I started to get really nervous but just as I was about to start jogging the course backwards to find her, she came around the bend all smiles! We cheered and shouted and snapped some action shots as she proudly headed to a 38:01 finish.

All smiles down the final stretch!

After snagging some post-race bananas, the kids went to the playground so I could squeeze in a cool down before going home to shower and head into work. Sean kept saying “Mommy! You beat all those ladies!” and for once he thought I was cooler than Captain America–and being a superhero to your kid is probably the best Mother’s Day present I can think of!

Bananas for everyone!

Pink Ribbon Run 5K
Time 23:11
Pace 7:28
Splits 7:14, 7:33, 7:35, 0:49
Age Group 8th of 152
Overall 42nd of 1275

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 05/14/2012 10:10 AM

    Great job by you and Mady! The non-heel strike photo is awesome, as is Mady’s enthusiasm and smile. Two thumbs up!

  2. 05/14/2012 3:30 PM

    Nice work! Congratulations to Mady, too. Happy belated Mothers Day.

  3. 05/15/2012 3:25 PM

    Fantastic! I can’t wait until my kids are big enough for this (I hope they are interested!). You both rocked!

Leave a Reply

