Skip to content
Weather is dumb.

04/23/2012

All winter long I felt like Mother Nature was taunting me. I was sidelined with my hip-thang and couldn’t enjoy the unseasonably mild temperatures and fluky (flukey?) lack of snow. But I was excited that spring had (seemingly) sprung early I was back running just in time for shorts and t-shirt weather. A meteorologist or Sylvia Browne I obviously am not, otherwise I would have seen that winter still had some last licks.

No, you don't need to adjust your Dilbert desk calendar. It is April 23. And we have a Nor'easter.

Saturday was very cold and very rainy. The prospect of running around my town seemed less than exciting so I drove to work to run with the Saturday morning training groups. As much as I don’t love company, misery loves company and Saturday was miserable. I tucked in with a small pack of runners and we trudged through the persistent April showers. At the end of 7 miles all of my layers were soaked through, I was chilled the bone, and my hands were frozen. I chatted with my coworkers for a bit but as soon as my fingers thawed out, I headed straight for a hot cup of coffee and an even hotter shower.

Yesterday I went to spin. I was glad it was a cross-training day because it was another chilly, wet, dreary day. Today, however, I was scheduled to get out for a short run. I’m not nutso about strictly adhering to a training plan so in the case of a Weather Advisory situation, I will rearrange my running days (especially this early in the week)–but I registered for a 5K on Sunday and I want to go easy on my hip and avoid back-to-back runs. So I layered up and headed out in to the wintry mix.

I am nothing if not spectacularly beautiful after running through sleet at 6:00 AM. At least I got to wear my cool Asics hat.

The sleet stung my face as I started my run heading into the wind. It wasn’t too bad–as long as I didn’t look up. But if I didn’t look up I didn’t see the monster puddles lining the sidewalks and streets. Total lose-lose. There was no wind coming back in but the ground was now covered in slippery slush, and my feet were freezing from a lake-sized puddle I failed to avoid. Even Darn Toughs can’t save you when your foot is fully submerged in icy water. As much as I love running, I was happy when this one came to an end. And I’ll be happier Wednesday morning when this nonsense weather has moved onward and upward to torture Canada.

Blerg.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

