Skip to content
The Boston Marathon made me have feelings. And I don’t like it one bit.

04/17/2012

I’ll probably be getting a lot of traffic on Run Fast and Don’t Fall Down today because Jogging Jeans gave me (and some other bloggerific ladies) a shout out this morning. In a post titled “Chick Blogger Love,” Jogging Jeans Jill lists her favorite penisless authored blogs. The one thing these sites all have in common is their cascading rainbows of positivity… all except mine.

“Suzanne – Run Fast and Don’t Fall Down. Okay, maybe Suzanne is A LOT cranky but she does have hints of sweetness. She is one of the funniest bloggers I know and I love her lots, so she gets to be on my list.”

Obviously, I’ve been completely overhyped. After reading Jill’s blurb people are going to expect to visit RFDFD and find a whole bunch of ha ha’s. Instead, they are going to find a stressed-out mom in desperate need of a haircut (haven’t gone since OCTOBER(!!!) and these split ends aren’t going to trim themselves!). At least she got the cranky part right.

But since Jill mentioned that I have HINTS of sweetness, I am going to tell you about my robot heart experiencing human-like emotions yesterday, even if it destroys my street cred.

By now everyone knows that the Boston Marathon was run in record-breaking temps yesterday. And if you don’t know, what the hell? While last year’s race boasted ideal conditions (cool with a tailwind), those runners tackling Beantown yesterday faced stifling heat and humidity. This wasn’t a case of people being wussies–it was hot and race officials were truly concerned about the safety of the participants. They offered a deferment program, beefed up water and aid stations, and trained 500 runners in CPR.

I wasn’t so much a fan of the deferment program because that is now 4000 fewer slots for next year’s race. My thought was that race-day temps are always a gamble and it was what it was. Runners needed to be smart and realize that it just wasn’t a PR day. The upside? There was now plenty of time to stop and kiss the Wellesley girls without a time goal looming overhead.

As the race got underway, even the elite runners were suffering. Last year’s winner–who blazed the course in a 2:03, the fastest marathon time ever run–dropped out at mile 18 due to cramping. The overall female from 2011 was seen walking part of the course near Fenway Park. Obviously conditions were tough. I was really nervous for my friend and coworker Anthony. He trained so hard for this race and was ready for an amazing day–but he was not ready for July weather in mid-April. Even with a mild winter, acclimating to a sudden, exponential rise in temperature–especially when you live in a very unbalmy Rochester–is impossible.

I tracked Anthony’s splits online, which were updated every 5K. After the 25K mark, Calves Sarah and I started messaging back-and-forth and refreshing the Athlete Tracking page every 3 seconds (give or take a second). We had noticed that Anthony’s pace had dropped off and while we know he is strong, we were so afraid the heat would overpower him. As we waiting for the 30K split to come in, both of our stomaches were in knots! It was nerve-wracking! With a sigh of relief, the next mark was posted–and then we anxiously awaited 35K. The 20 minute gaps between updates were truly agonizing! It was only when Anthony crossed the finish line an hour later that we were able to breathe huge sighs of relief.

I think it was one of the first times (maybe the first?) that I was so crazy-insane nervous about a race that I wasn’t even running! When we sent Anthony off with well wishes last week, we wanted him to run a kick-ass time. But given the brutal course conditions, when it came to race morning, we just wanted to know he was ok! We didn’t care if it took him 2:30 or 4:30 or 6:30. At one point Sarah (probably only half-joking) suggested we hop in the car and meet him at the finish line with a hose.

We are all so proud of Anthony for finishing and I really can’t wait to hear his recap from the front lines later this week. And I am also very glad not all of my friends run–because if I don’t think my stomach can handle having all these FEELINGS and being all CONCERNED and CARING and SELFLESS and THINKING OF OTHERS. Everyone I know should stick to benign activities like making latch hook rugs so I can go about my egocentric business in peace.

Wesley Korir after winning the 116th Boston Marathon

Winner Sharon Cherop and Jemima Jelaget Sumgong (2nd) at the finish line

Me sitting on a giant robot

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/17/2012 1:14 PM

    My random thoughts:
    1) So you didn’t feel all warm and fuzzy and CONCERNED when I ran the Philly Marathon? Hmph.
    2) Has it really been since October that Kyle B made your hair all silky and smooth? Wow, time flies!
    3) I won’t tell ANYONE about your big huge secret life in which you are nice, thoughtful, funny, supportive, and good-hearted. Street cred!

    • Suzanne permalink*
      04/17/2012 1:22 PM

      I was more excited for you and not at all worried you’d come down with a case of the heat stroke. But your race was the first time I actually enjoyed being a race spectator/cheerleader.

      • 04/17/2012 2:09 PM

        Yeah, we need to totally do that junior-high-tween-thing where I squealed a whole lot and said some gibberish in a really high-pitched voice because I was so happy to see you!

  2. 04/17/2012 1:17 PM

    OH GAWD I need that Robot!!!! How does one even fit that in the door?

    I’m shamed to admit that I might have cried (briefly) yesterday while tracking a friend of mine during the race. I cry EVERY time I watch that stupid Spirit of the Marathon movie, even though I know exactly what happens. Please don’t tell anyone because that last bit is really embarrassing. These things bring out the best in us I guess.

Leave a Reply

