Skip to content
Divine Intervention

04/04/2012

I’m not a super-de-duper religious person, or even a super one. Sure my kids go to parochial school but it’s because I can’t get enough plaid polyester in my life and I think it is really important to have the day after Halloween off from school for a Fun Sized-detox. But I am not so jaded that I refuse to recognize a transcendental sign when it slaps me in the face, and this past Sunday I was smacked… twice!

The first sign was quite literally a sign. There is a church I pass during 99.9% of my runs because I am the Derek Zoolander of running (can’t turn left). My Girl Scout troop meets at this church but other than that I largely ignore it because I am self-absorbed concentrating on good running form.

On Sunday I had a kick-ass run. My goal was to cover 6 miles and that’s it. But as I started to tick off miles, I noticed that my pace was not too shabby. With very little effort I clocked 9:09, 8:35, 8:22, 8:43, and 8:30. I was psyched! With one mile left I passed the church and noticed the sign out front read “God gives you setbacks so he can move you forward.” After being injured for 12 long, painful weeks, I found a lot of comfort in that sign. Injuries are just setbacks, they are not the end. Setbacks are opportunities to learn and grow and not a time to throw in the towel. And here I was moving forward–and a pretty decent clip considering I had to lift my left to get out of the car just a few weeks ago. Seeing that sign made this comeback run that much sweeter. (For those keeping track at home, my final mile was an 8:10.)

I was–obviously–crazy excited when I got home, and I decided that I would run the LIRRC Easter 5K when I was on Long Island. I was feeling strong and thought I could post a non-embarrassing time. The more I thought about it, the more in love with the idea I fell. Although a small part of my brain (the logical part) thought it was too soon to jump into a race, the get-carried-away part of my brain punched common sense in the face and Googled the extended forecast so I could start planning race-day attire. I was doing it and NOTHING was going to stop me!

Thankfully, the VCR was not damaged.

Except this.

MY HUSBAND had taken the kids to visit his dad that day, and they were on their way back home when a deer ran right into the side of the minivan. Some may call that unlucky, but I call it a sign–a sign that I was not to race this weekend and if God had to throw a deer at the Nissan Quest to keep me off Long Island and away from the starting line then so be it. Signs like this you can’t ignore, mostly because it’s hard to ignore a $500 deductible.

So, yeah, I’ll be staying in Rochester this weekend while the good people at Progressive pay to have the deer fur buffed off the minivan. And I will be doing a very sensible training run around town.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 04/04/2012 2:16 PM

    My favorite post to date.

  2. 04/04/2012 2:22 PM

    I’m glad no one got hurt. Well, besides the deer, that is. :) And I agree, some signs are too obvious to ignore.

Leave a Reply

