Skip to content
Pardon the Interruption: A Non-Running Related Post

03/25/2012

I saw the Hunger Games last night. Because I am better than most of you a Master of Library Science, I read the books as they were released and not when they became trendy bitches. No spoilers, but here are my thoughts:

If you go see a super long movie, you should eat beforehand. I didn’t (I drove right from work at TNVGRFS to the ironically named Regal Cinemas) so I had to buy a movie theater hotdog–which is not only good tasting but good for you [insert sarcastic eye roll]. But I was so hungry didn’t care if I burped nitrates the whole time because a) I was with Tawnya and b) even if I wasn’t with Tawnya I don’t like to make out during dystopic science fiction action dramas even if there are a few humorous one-liners tossed in.

When I first read the book years and years ago (2008) I thought “They will never be able to make this into a movie!” The violence is so graphic and I actually struggled reading some of the more explicit passages. I couldn’t see how it could translate to a film and still be available to its Young Adult audience. But through movie magic, they made it happen–and successfully! Although a few things had to be changed due to logistics and time constraints, nothing weird went down (example: Michael Bays and Ninja Turtles from space) and the movie stayed very true to the book.

The casting was excellent, but I would have liked if Woody Harrelson as Haymitch received more screen time. I was initially skeptical of Lenny Kravitz as Cinna but he was perfect, and Stanley Tucci NAILED Ceasar Flickman. And, of course, Katniss, Peeta, and Gale looked exactly as we all imagined while reading the books (The Hunger Games, Catching Fire, and Mockingjay). The sole casting error was the role of Cato. It would have been 1000 (yes, one thousand) times better if the career tribute was played by ZABKA!

Sweep the leg!

Overall it was a great movie and I’m very satisfied with the adaptation… but Harry Potter (all of them) was way better. I give it 4 out of 5 Honey Stinger Waffles.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

