Skip to content
My New Favorite Running Shirt

03/15/2012

This past Sunday a portion of the sales at  The New Very Good Run Fast Shoppe went to the Muscular Dystrophy Association. Coworker Anthony (remember him?) is running the Boston Marathon next month and was looking for a way to make his race more meaningful. His two cousins grew up with Duchenne Muscular Dystrophy, a genetic disorder and a severe form of muscular degeneration that limits an individual’s life to no more that 30 years.  Just last year, Anthony’s cousin Matt passed away from this horrible disease. Although Anthony qualified for Boston and did not have to fundraise to “earn” a spot in this prestigious race, he still wanted to dedicate his run in his cousins’ honor.

The owners of TNVGRFS generously donated 10% of all sales last Sunday to MDA. The special event was promoted through email, Facebook, Twitter, and word-of-mouth, and the store was hopping! It was heart-warming to see so many people in the Rochester community come out in support of this amazing cause. As we locked up at the end of the day, the staff started running around the store like fools, buying things to help boost Anthony’s fundraising. Running Store Bestie Jake was probably the most out of control–I think he bought 18 packs of Honey Stinger Chews and a case of Nuun. In addition to my KT Tape, I picked up a new pink tech shirt.

Although the fit is amazing, it's the message that I love.

The shirt has since become my favorite running shirt. Emblazoned with the word Runinspired, it completely sums up what running is to me. Whether it is for physical fitness, stress relief, or raising money for a charity (like I have done through Roswell Park’s Team Cure), I am always inspired to get out the door and go. There are so many positives that come from running, and no other activity brings me so much joy. I find inner peace with every stride.

Over the years I have had family, friends, and peers tell me that I motivate them to get moving. This humbles me to no end, and I cannot adequately express how it makes me feel to know that I may have played a small role in someone making that choice to live a healthier life. These people, in turn, inspire me to continue running, continue being active. Watching my daughter Madylin play sports and grow up fit also inspires me to keep running. Not only do I need to set an example, but I want to run along side her; I don’t want to watch her life from the sidelines. When I participate in a Team Cure event and I see the cancer survivors proudly running with their bald heads, I am inspired. They are beautiful and brave, and I emulate their strength and courage.

Running has done so much for me and my heart. And running follows so closely the patterns of life–there are ups and there are downs, there are triumphs and there are failures, and there is always room for improvement.

At first it didn’t occur to me the significance of buying a Runinspired shirt the day of Anthony’s fundraiser, but now I realize what a perfectly meaningful purchase it was. I know that on April 16, 2012 as Anthony is tackling the historic Boston course–through Hopkinton and Wellesley, and over the Newton Hills–he is going to be Runinspired every step of the way.

To learn more about Anthony run for MDA and how you can help, please visit his website.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Martha permalink
    03/15/2012 1:06 PM

    I was at the other location of TNVGRFS today and saw that shirt and was VERY tempted to buy it. It’s on my mental list to seriously think about it and go back. I may have to go to your location for a pink one.

    • Suzanne permalink*
      03/15/2012 1:13 PM

      We have one more pink and one red. I can check the sizes when I go in later! It’s a great fit too–not skin tight, not a billowy sail.

Leave a Reply

