Skip to content
Progress!

01/30/2012

I ran for ONE WHOLE MINUTE yesterday! Sure it was on the treadmill and sure I was wearing jeans (did you read that, JoggingJeans Jill?) and sure it was actually two 30 second spurts BUT it was the most running I’ve done in over 3 weeks and I was actually able to hobble through it. So yay!

We got the new Mizuno Wave Elixir 7 in last week and it is a pretty sweet looking shoe. It’s mildly amusing (to myself alone) how I used to buy the plainest shoes I could find and now that I work at a running specialty store all I want to wear is the most obnoxious looking things ever crafted by children in overseas sweatshops. The Elixirs are not “obnoxious” but they are covered in crazy purple swirls which makes me think mushrooms and black light posters more than 5K PR. However, if you are looking for a lightweight shoe for road racing and speed work that still offers support then trip on over to try this bad boy on.

Last week I verbally made out with the Adidas Boston 3 on this blog. When I tried it on it felt amazing and the colors were Awesome (see the capital boldface A?). I declared my love and almost felt that I wanted to marry it buy it, but fortunately I am broke not an impulse shopper because I now believe the Elixir is my soul mate.

Specs: 12mm drop, 7.5 ounces, phoenix feather core just like Harry Potter’s wand(!)

Although testing out the Boston 3 proved to be an epic fail (I only used “epic” to drive MY HUSBAND crazy because according to him the only thing epic is that Lord of the Hobbits trilogy), I was ITCHING to get on the treadmill the second I had the Elixirs on my feet. After pacing the store shouting things like “THESE FEEL GREAT! I LOVE THEM WITH MY HEART!” I broke down and hopped on. And daaaaaaaaamn! They lived up to my very own hype! But now I was torn–did I love these shoes or did I love the Bostons? I finally knew what The Bachelor feels like at the final rose–emotionally torn and douche baggish.

Solution:

That's me!

Genius! Yes, I walked around the store like that for quite a bit and then I ran on the treadmill to get the literal side-by-side comparison. The were both very light, very comfortable, and very snazzy looking. If I were to chose a pair based on appearance alone it would be the Boston for sure. As my coworker put it “They look like a tuxedo for your feet!” and no one loves formal-wear more than me and Wedding Day Barbie! However, I preferred the overall feel of the Elixir. It was a little more snug, a little more firm, and definitely more supportive. Although they are both designed for the same thing, the Boston falls in to the neutral category and the Elixir was designed for those who need a little more stability. I still couldn’t use the Elixir for an everyday trainer with my pancake feet but I’d be more apt to spend the dollars ($120 American) on this shoe than the Boston knowing I’d get a little more use out of it.

Tip o’ the day: If you are going to try on the Elixir (or any Mizuno) because I am such a convicing sell, go 1/2 size up.

And as for my leg, yes I was able to hobble 60 (non-consecutive) seconds on the treadmill yesterday. I then rolled The Stick all over it like I was making pizza dough, and last night at the gym I was able to do some lunges without any pain. This morning it felt pretty ok when I woke up. It is still tender and I am not healed, but I think I might finally be on my way. I followed this morning’s workout with some foam rolling and stretching. I also ordered a thigh compression sleeve from Zensah which I think will give me some extra support in that area while aiding the healing process by reducing swelling and inflamnation.

I am hoping that I may be able to go out for a 2-miler at the end of the week. But even if I can start running soon, the 50K in May is out. I just don’t have enough time to train for something that big right now. The injury was a too much of a set-back. Sole Sista Sue and I talked about it and she’s got some stuff going on too (good stuff, don’t worry!) and was concerned about having the appropriate time to train as well. We decided on doing the 25K instead and shooting for the Can50 in October as our first 50K. Like I said last week, injuries suck and plans change but it’s aaaaaall good.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/30/2012 1:07 PM

    If I witnessed the first-successful-attempt-at-running-post-injury in your jeans, I’d laugh and laugh first and then cheer in happiness!

    • Suzanne permalink*
      01/30/2012 1:08 PM

      At least I put my hair in a ponytail before hopping on! I had that going for me!

  2. 01/31/2012 8:27 AM

    Thanks for the shout out! It’s aaalllll good. Should I PENCIL in the 25K? Because that’s binding, you know!

    • Suzanne permalink*
      01/31/2012 10:04 AM

      Yes. Because you cannot erase pencil. Ever.

Leave a Reply

