Skip to content
This post is about shoes. If you do not like shoes, do not read this post.

01/26/2012

The Spring shoes are starting to trickle in at work and they look pretty awesome! The colors are BRIGHT and totally 80’s retro so if you miss the days of side ponytails, slouch socks, and Swatch watches then you will especially dig new versions of the Nike Pegasus, Saucony’s Guide 5, and the brand-new Asics Neo33. But the one shoe I have fallen in love with (besides my YELLOW Asics Blur33 that I wear every single day) is the Adidas Adizero Boston 3.

My dad would dig the CRIMSON AND GOLD!

The previous version (Boston 2) didn’t do much for me in color or fit, but the 3 is AWESOME! Designed to be a speed work/tempo trainer for neutral runners, I would buy this as my race day shoe if I still did a ton of 5Ks. Unfortunately, for me, 2-3 short races a year doesn’t justify the $110 price tag, and as a flat-chested flat-footed overpronator I need more support for my daily runs. But I can love this shoe from afar and hug the box to my flat chest every time I go into the stock room!

I tried the Boston 3 on yesterday and it felt great! It was extremely lightweight but still felt like I was wearing a shoe (unlike some more-minimalist or racing-style shoes that feel like bedroom slippers). It has the standard 12mm drop but weighs in at only 10 ounces (which is very light to someone where wears big chunky stability shoes). The mesh upper was thin but I did not feel like my toes were going to bust out of the top like I did when I tried on the Asics Sky Speed. What I really liked about it–besides the SICK new colors–was the bottom. The rubber was so sticky that it would offer great grip on wet roads.

The only sad part of this try-on (besides not buying the Boston 3) was that I tried to run on the treadmill with them and my leg hurt so bad I couldn’t even eke out 30 seconds. I had to settle for a brisk walking pace–not very promising that I’ll be back running next week. But my bum leg aside, if you are looking for a good road race shoe or something light for track workouts, I recommend checking this shoe out. Bump up a 1/2 size if you’ll be doing long miles in them (example: you’re an efficient neutral runner and this will be your marathon shoe), but if you won’t have them on for super-long stretches order true to size.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/26/2012 10:42 AM

    Don’t talk about shoes anymore! Every time (and I mean EVERY time) I hear about a sweet new pair of shoes I a)doubt my love for my Mizunos and wonder if there’s something better out there and b)want to buy them! The budget does not include new shoes so I guess I’ll have to settle for lusting over them on my computer screen.

    • Suzanne permalink*
      01/26/2012 10:44 AM

      You can still love Mizunos AND another pair! I love all of my shoes! And even the shoes I don’t own–like these sweet, sweet, sweet Adidas.

      • 01/26/2012 10:57 AM

        Loving something always ends up costing me money that I am not allowed to spend.

  2. 01/26/2012 10:53 AM

    Side pony tales are back in; at least according to the Real Housewives of Beverly Hills.

Leave a Reply

