Skip to content
Injury Update

01/25/2012

It’s been a week since I’ve blogged a real blog. I just haven’t had much to say beyond “My leg is hurt! But I’m being positive! It sucks! But I’m being positive!”

I went to PT on Thursday. For those who aren’t acronym savvy, PT stands for Physical Therapy which stands for you better have good insurance because those motherfuckers charge you for every. single. exercise. However, I still can’t walk without a limp so I will just sell one of my children to pay the bill when it comes. Needs versus wants.

Mike the Physical Therapist asked me a whole bunch of questions about when the injury happened, what kinds of exercises/activities I engage in, how much running I do, et cetera, et cetera. He agreed that I run pretty conservatively and it was most likely the elliptical/lunge night that caused this. He then looked at my left leg and shouted “Oh my! Can I see the other leg? This one is all swollen and puffy!… Oh… Nevermind, this one is like that too.” This made me have to stutter stupid shit like “Yeah, see my outer thighs are kinda big and red. They don’t seem to get any circulation. So they are just like that. Red and puffy.” Moments like that make me feel so pretty!!

After bending me all over the table in a completely non-sexy way, Mike the Physical Therapist decided that it probably wasn’t bursitis at all but a deep muscle strain. Which muscle? He wasn’t sure. But it was near that place where the IT band, pirformis, sacrum, gluteal something, and something something all meet up (science!). Diagnosis: heat, ibuprofen, stretch, cross train, possibly back to running in two weeks time.

It’s a week later and I feel better but not great. The past couple of days I’ve only had to take ibuprofen once instead of 3 times a day and my limp isn’t quite as pronounced, but I still can’t imagine running. It just hurts too much so even the thought of running makes me wince. All because I needed to prove to some high school kids that I was an in-shape old lady.

I’m registered to run the Lake Effect Half Marathon on 2/25. I was pretty sure (pre-injury) that if the roads were clear and the temps were non-frigid I had a very good shot at PR. Now I may not make it to the starting line, and if I am there when the gun goes off, all time goals are out the window. Fine. I’m more concerned about training for the Dirty German 50K. I really should be into base training right now and I’m not. I don’t want to go into this thing under-trained and ill-prepared. I think that will ruin the experience and could be demoralizing. 31 miles on trails is not really something you can “wing” so I truly hope the PT is correct when he says I will be back out on the roads by the end of next week.

So while I wait this anonymous deep muscle strain out, I’ll keep plugging away on the bike. I’ve busted out my Jillian Michaels and Jackie Warner DVDs to start mixing things up, and I’ll continue to strength train and work on my core. My deep water workout class has been awesome, and although I keep saying but not doing it, I really want to start aqua jogging at least once a week. I just need to get over how completely ridiculous it looks. Damn you, vanity!

And if all else fails, I will be hitching a ride with Air France to soak my left side in some of that magic Lourdes water.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/25/2012 11:49 AM

    You are snything but a slacker, and seriously make me feel incredibly, embarrassingly lazy. Do you have a massage therapist or chiropractor near you that does ART? Not like the painting, drawing kind, but Active Release Technique? It really, really helped my muscle tear heal and feel better. If you’d really be comfortable with someone ‘working’ your hip/butt area.

  2. 01/26/2012 10:36 AM

    I totally agree with the chiropractic/ART suggestion! When I had my temporary neck paralysis my chiropractor did some ART and an ultrasound and it was like a miracle!

    • Suzanne permalink*
      01/26/2012 10:45 AM

      Unfortunately I don’t think my budget or craptacular insurance will cover all this stuff.

      • 01/26/2012 10:58 AM

        My chiropractor is $10/visit. But your insurance might be crappier.

        • 01/26/2012 4:42 PM

          I’m uninsured (gasp!), and full-price is $80/visit, but I’ve been very successful in negotiating pay upfront discounts. Really, I don’t think I’d be back to running so quickly without it.

          • Suzanne permalink*
            01/26/2012 5:03 PM

            I found a chiro near me that does all sorts of massage and trigger point stuff so I left a message. Maybe they take insurance? I feel very unsatisfied with the orthopedist and PT bc the pain and symptoms are NOT improving or improving very slightly.

Leave a Reply

