Skip to content
“O Canada! Our home and native land!”

01/17/2012

Yesterday I went snowshoeing for the first time. I am sure this is the opposite of what one should do when suffering from bursitis, but I wanted to do something with Mady besides sending her to her room and ending all my sentences with “If you know what’s good for you, young lady!”

Back in 2006 I had read that snowshoeing was excellent cross training for runners and really works the quads, so I asked my parents to buy Mady and me pairs for Christmas… except that maybe winters on Long Island are not so conducive to snowshoeing. Besides an ice storm on February 14 (that subsequently ended up with MY HUSBAND and I reuniting after 17 years and then getting married and making big-headed babies), that winter was pretty snow-less. The next winter we were living in Buffalo but I was pregnant with Sean (see?) and incredibly exhausted. It took all my energy to roll out of bed and sit behind a library reference desk; there was no way I was going to trek around the woods with tennis rackets strapped to my feet! Then we lived in Philadelphia, whose winters are identical to Long Island, and the snowshoes remained in their original packaging (along with the YakTrax Steph and I bought only to have the snow melt the next day), so you could imagine my delight when I moved to Rochester and found that snowshoeing was a beloved winter past time!

As soon as MY HUSBAND got home from work, Mady and I ran out the door and headed up to Durand Eastman park which overlooks Lake Ontario (read: Canada). It took us just a few minutes to get the straps and bindings closed and we were off! Mady immediately loved it and was running all around. We started near the golf course and practiced stomping up and down the little inclines on the 10th hole before heading into more unchartered territory. We had so much fun finding animal tracks and animal poop and going up and down hills. At one point Mady announced, “This is the most fun we’ve ever had together!” I asked, “What about Girl Scout camping?” and she answered, “Ok, this is the second most fun!”  I was truly impressed with how much she took to it–and she was way braver than I was sprinting down the slopes at top speed.

My snow bunny!

It's a waist pack not a fanny pack. There's a difference.

Soon it started to get dark and Mady’s feet started to freeze. She doesn’t have wool socks and didn’t realize I gave her two paris of socks because I wanted her to put them BOTH on (she thought I was giving her options). We tromped back to the car, popped off the snowshoes, and we went home where I made her a big mug of hot chocolate. We were proud of the 1.53 miles we covered in 40 minutes (OF COURSE I kept a watch on it!). We were winter warriors!

It can’t wait to try it again, but I do need to be more cautious because my left hip was very unhappy with my winter trek last night. Depending on how physical therapy goes on Thursday, I may sign Mady and me up for a 2-mile snowshoe event on Sunday. It’s part of the Lake Effect Winter Trail Festival that includes 2-mile, 4-mile and half-marathon events. I think it would a great bonding experience to complete the course together. I just need to load up on ibuprofen and find some matching fleeces for us to wear!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Lorie permalink
    01/17/2012 1:20 PM

    Sounds like so much fun! Wishing I was there!

  2. donna..:) permalink
    01/17/2012 6:23 PM

    Sounds like fun. Maybe you should get the feet warmer packs that the hunters use in their shoes and gloves, here their great!!

  3. 01/18/2012 1:52 PM

    “hermaphraditic snowperson” hahahaha.

    • Suzanne permalink*
      01/18/2012 1:58 PM

      That’s probably not even the PC term for a snow person with both male and female sex organs. I hope I didn’t offend our winter friends.

Leave a Reply

