Skip to content
“Defeat does not exist in this dojo, does it?”

01/16/2012

My kids are off from school today. I let them stay up late last night so they would sleep in this morning. My plan worked and the fighting, whining, and complaining didn’t start until 8:30. Yes, a one hour reprieve from being driven batshit crazy. So now I am doing the only thing I can to teach them a lesson: I am kicking their asses at Just Dance.

No matter what activity I am doing, I can be pretty competitive. It’s fun to win. Even if I beat my kids. I once dated a man who thought I was too competitive. I was trying to convince him that I wasn’t and asked a friend to back me up on my easy-going, laid back claims. She replied “Sue’s not competitive. She’ll bet you $20 she’s not.” Way to help a sista out. My dad won’t play golf with me because I ride my club around the green like a horse after sinking a put. I grunt like Monica Seles when I play air hockey. I have been known to say “In your face!” to a 6-year-old.

Celebrating a big Bop It! victory over my niece in 2008

But with running, the only person I am trying to beat is myself. I don’t set out to defeat the field. I don’t try to pick off the women in my age group. I just want to do the best that I can do that day. I try to hit the time goal I set for myself, and I try to run smarter and faster than I ran last time. Age group awards are fun, but they are not why I run. I run to be a better me. I’m not always an asshole.

…Ooh! My kids just put Mario & Sonic at the London 2012 Olympic Games in the Wii! All that stuff I was going to write about this past weekend’s marathon trials will have to wait because I smell gold medals in my immediate future…

One Comment leave one →
  1. 09/20/2014 11:21 PM

    Hey there! I could hhave sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking throuugh some of
    the post I realized it’s new to me. Anyhow, I’m definitelly delighted I found
    it and I’ll be book-marking and checking bqck often!

Leave a Reply

