Skip to content
It’s all good.

01/12/2012

Yesterday I made the very important announcement that my bursa sac was inflamed with sexy. I was pretty upbeat because it was not a stress fracture and I just had a big cup of coffee (love my Keurig!!!). I felt that if I was going to get hurt, NOW was the time and I am only sidelined for as long as it takes for the inflammation to become uninflamed (if anyone knows science words, it’s me!). In the grand scheme of injuries, this was the teeniest tiniest blip. Does it suck? Sure. It’s it life-altering? No.

Many of my one blog reader complimented my positive outlook, but I don’t think I should be praised for being practical.

1) Experience has taught me to buck the eff up. I’ve handled injuries like a big baby before. In November of 2006 I tried to run through a stress fracture of the pubis ramus (which is kind of like the vagina bone but don’t google that). Guess what? By March it still wasn’t healed. Instead of being smart and cross training, I pouted and got all dramatic and then laced up my kicks and dragged my right leg around the neighborhood. It was stupid and instead of shelving running for 9-12 weeks, I made the injury last 6 months. Lesson more than learned.

2) Looking at the BIG picture, a small injury is just that. When I see below-the-knee amputees racing and women with bald heads running in breast cancer awareness events, how could I even host a pity party? These war veterans and chemotherapy patients exemplify mental toughness and fortitude and bravery and courage and perseverance. So am I really going to cry into my pillow and scribble “Why me????” in my diary over some shitty hip pain? No. Seeing these everyday heroes has truly helped me to get over myself.

3) Running is my passion but it is not my livelihood. If I can’t run, I may get a little (read: VERY) stir crazy, but my family won’t starve. I’m not supporting a Kenyan village. Without running, I may lose my sanity (if there’s any left to lose), but I’m not losing my job, my car, my house, my unicorn.

So yes, I’m being positive, and I took this attitude to the gym last night for my second workout of the day. I did hill intervals on the bike and tried to crush the “inclines.” I kept repeating the mantra “Kill the hill!” and reminded myself that this peddling to nowhere would make my quads super-strong for running real-life inclines. I am staying focussed on the long-term instead of bemoaning what I can’t do right now. There were no crazies at the gym last night, but I didn’t have any “cabin fever” to distract from. I just had perspective.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

