Skip to content
My Bursa Sac is Inflamed. Sexy, huh?

01/11/2012

I haven’t really been blogging since The Injury because it hurts to sit in my blogging chair. My blogging chair is a throne constructed of golden unicorn horns and upholstered with pegasus wings. I am just that important. But even mystical materials do not ease bursitis symptoms, and I have been doing most of my internetting from my phone or standing up, which means no blogging. Sad-ish face.

I went to the orthopaedist this morning who moved my leg around pressed my hip and agreed with my google diagnosis of bursitis. He sent me down the hall for x-rays to make double sure. He showed me the films of my hip and they were actually quite fetching. I make a hot skeleton. If MY HUSBAND had accompanied me to my appointment I would probably be pregnant right now. Yes, THAT hot. 

BUT there was no sign of anything bad–no fractures, weak spots, calcium deposits, or signs of arthritis. There was one slight spur near my booty butt but he said those come and go. I cannot run until I can walk without pain, but I can continue to cross-train. I am also starting physical therapy next Thursday to help strengthen my hips and glutes, and I am never to use an elliptical again. Apparently people with bad knees can only tolerate the elliptical while those with bad hips should avoid it like the clap.

This isn’t really bad news, and I was as unsurprised by the diagnosis as I was by Joran van der Sloot’s guilty plea this morning. Or that Beyonce’s baby has a crazy middle name. Or that Katie Perry and Russel Brand broke up. Or pretty much anything I read on dlisted. Because BPAC may not be happening, I had pretty much written it off and decided to focus solely on the Dirty German Endurance Fest 50K. This gave me about a month extra of training so an injury this early on is NOT a set back.

So now I get to ride my bike until I hate it. (Yay?) I also start my Deep Water Workout class tomorrow night (please, please let this not be old lady water aerobics), and I am thinking of taking a self-defense/karate class through our town’s rec center. Hopefully that will mix stuff up enough to keep me from going batshit crazy. Also, I rejoined Planet Fitness so scoping out the certifiable insane will keep me distracted while I pedal to nowhere. On my first night back I saw a guy dressed in a Captain America singlet, lots and lots and lots and LOTS of sequins, and a tattoo of the New York State Thruway sign. The gym never disappoints!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. 01/11/2012 12:14 PM

    Yay to you for the optimism vibe in this post!
    You’ll be lacing up your running sneaks in no time!

    • Suzanne permalink*
      01/11/2012 12:22 PM

      It’s the coffee talking.

  2. 01/11/2012 12:47 PM

    Regarding your Google-diagnosed bursitis: “This annoyed MY HUSBAND because the only medical expert I had consulted at this point was my iPhone.”
    YOUR HUSBAND can kiss it because Steve Jobs is apparently correct once again.

    • Suzanne permalink*
      01/11/2012 1:06 PM

      Dammit, Sue! Steve Jobs is dead!

      • 01/11/2012 4:03 PM

        And yet he continues to haunt us from the grave.

  3. 01/11/2012 2:08 PM

    I’m really glad nothing’s broken. I look forward to reading about your “Deep Water Workout” :)

  4. 01/16/2012 10:17 AM

    Love the blog

  5. Edie permalink
    01/17/2012 12:21 AM

    I was googling & found your site. I so needed this. I live to run! I have bursitis in my hip right now, am in so much pain, and have been going to PT & they had me doing the elliptical! Curse them! No wonder I am not getting better. Anyway, I have been reading horror stories on message boards of people who don’t get over bursitis. I have been freaking out. Thanks for putting it in perpective. My husband will thanks you too. I am no fun to be around when I can’t run:-)

    • Suzanne permalink*
      01/17/2012 8:02 AM

      Hi Edie, Glad you found RFDFD! This is my second go-around with bursitis. The first time it was in my right hip (2010). I also had a stress reaction so I was sidelined for 12 weeks total. I just hit the stationary bike and pedaled and pedaled and pedaled and found that I didn’t lose a lot of fitness. I also used that time to start strength training since I have a very week core, especially my hips and glutes, and my arms are like angel hair pasta. I had read once before that the elliptical is a no-no for those who are prone to bursitis but I didn’t really pay attention to it. However, the bursitis in my left hip come on with a vengeance the day after using an elliptical–the first time I had used one in 10 months or so. I asked the ortho about it at my appt and he said anyone with hip issues should avoid it!! So for now I am back on the bike, taking iburpofen 3 times a day, and icing when it gets bad. I’ve also found the using a foam roller on my ITBand helps. I have my first PT appt on Thursday and I am hoping for good news. I have a half marathon 2/25 that I actually thought I could PR at but now I don’t even know if I’ll be on the starting line. But I need to start my 50K base training soon. Stupid, stupid elliptical! I’m sending good healing vibes your way. Good luck!

      • Edie permalink
        01/17/2012 11:26 AM

        Suzanne, you have given me a new faith that I will run again! Some days I have my doubts. I have a bad case of runner’s knee on top of everything else, so I can’t bike without sounding like a bag of popping corn, but I am becoming a yoga mama. Good luck @ PT and thanks so much for putting yourself out there & sharing your experiences so we can all learn from them. I will be praying you make it to your 1/2!

        • Suzanne permalink*
          01/17/2012 12:17 PM

          You WILL run again!! Are you able to swim at all or have access to a pool? I just joined a deep water workout class and it was really good! I can’t wait until the next class. I am not a good swimmer (I can do the strokes but not well) but now I think I might try aqua jogging. We were doing it as part of the class and I thought “I could totally do this for a workout!” I had always heard how boring it was, but it wasn’t too bad and it was better than doing nothing!!

          • Edie permalink
            01/17/2012 1:38 PM

            Thanks Suzanne! I used to swim quite a bit so I am going to try to get to the pool twice a week or so & just pull (paddles and no legs). I am hoping that will make me feel like I am getting some cardio in. Once the pain subsides at rest I may try aqua jogging too. I really appreciate your feedback. I am a 35 y.o. mother of 2 who loves to run & being injured sucks. I know you totally “get that feeling”. It is so nice to have gotten your support. You rock!

            • Suzanne permalink*
              01/17/2012 1:51 PM

              We are practically twins–I’m 34 (and a half!) with three kids and a crappy case of bursitis. Running is my sanity, so I’m surprised I’ve handled the past 1.5 weeks as well as I have. I have feeling a meltdown is imminent! But we’ll get through… I think! ;)

  6. Edie permalink
    01/17/2012 2:41 PM

    Too funny! I am in the thick of meltdown. This has been going on for a few months now. I had a cortisone shot 20 days ago, although I am not counting ;) and I thought that was going to be the magic cure. Not so, PT had me doing some crazy stuff to strengthen my hip (bouncing on the mini-tramp, monsters, elliptical) but the inflammation never had a chance to go down. So I pretty much flunked PT. Now I am doing total rest and seeing where that takes me. We will get through!

    • Suzanne permalink*
      01/17/2012 3:08 PM

      I’ll let you know what my PT has me do after Thursday. Did you feel any relief after the shot?

      • Edie permalink
        01/17/2012 3:29 PM

        I didn’t really get relief from the shot, but when I finally talked to ortho last week (2 weeks after the shot) & told them I was still having pain & they asked what I was doing @ PT, they said “no wonder you are still having pain”. I would love to hear an update after your PT. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

