Skip to content
The good, the bad, and the downright painful.

01/07/2012

In my quest be stronger than a 10th grader, I definitely overdid it at the gym the other day. I felt sore but nothing out of the ordinary that night and the next morning during my run, but by Thursday night I was in a fair amount of pain. It pretty much hurt to move my left leg. Friday was an active rest day, and I only did some dynamic stretching before hitting the upper body weights and abs. After some static stretching, foam rolling, and ibuprofen the leg felt better, and when I woke up this morning there was not even a twinge which was good because I had planned to hook up with a new running group at 7:00 AM.

The group meets just over a mile from my house so I decided to run there as a warmup and to test my leg. If it hurt, I would bail and do my own workout but if it felt ok I would meet up with the group. I heard this group runs at a fairly decent pace and I wanted to be able to A) keep up and B) not make my leg worse. But if felt ok, so I headed to the rendezvous point (Cam’s Pizza).

Everyone was really friendly and introduced themselves as we gathered in the pre-dawn parking lot. Guesstimate there was about 20 runners, only 4 of us were women but those there other 3 women were in GOOD shape. We set out on a 10-mile run, and I immediately fell to the back of the pack which is not a place I’m accustomed to being on a group run. However, I know that these guys are good runners so if I could at least hang with them, even at the tail, I’d be more than satisfied.

One of the guys who helps organize the group, Chris, hung back to chat. I know he could have gone much faster so I thought it was really nice of him to make the newbie feel welcome. He was surprised I ran the Century Marathon as my first full because it is a tough course. He and another member have run the Century Half several times and Chris said he couldn’t imagine that doing that loop twice was much fun. This made me feel like less of a slacker among the group! I also ran with a mother who recently qualified for Boston. She dabbled in running when her kids were younger, but after being diagnosed with cancer 6 years ago, she decided to start running marathons, and in her 40’s  has post a few sub-3:45 efforts! Mary is one of the reasons I love running–there are so many inspirational stories from regular people.

We ran through some pretty nice parts of Rochester and along Lake Ontario before looping back into town. At mile 8 there was a big, fat hill that kinda sorta sucked BUT Chris had dropped a cooler with Gatorade and cups before the run so we stopped for a quick sip at the top. Perfect! However, after stopping and starting again, my left leg started to stiffen up and feel very not good. My pace for the last 2+ miles definitely slowed but so did some of the other runners so I didn’t really care. I just wanted to finish.

The group run logged 10.78 miles total. After chatting for a few minutes in the lot, most everyone was headed inside Cam’s for breakfast pizza and coffee, but I decided to head home. Baby steps with this being social thing! My legs were tired and my left leg felt throbby so I really wished I had driven there, but I took it slow on the way home (a true cool down).

The Breakdown: Warmup 1.31 miles/12:02, Group run 10.78 miles/1:30:42 (8:19, 8:20, 8:10, 8:20, 8:10, 8:25, 8:25, 8:19, 9:04, 8:38, 6:30), Cool down 1.31 miles/12:05

Unfortunately, my leg now feels worse than ever. Like super-duper bad. I’m mad at myself, and I really hope it is something that feels better after a few days of cross training. When will I learn my lesson? (Don’t answer that.) I also suffered this minor abrasion from the zipper on my tights. It feels a worse than it looks:

Like my new socks? They're called Feetures! How clever!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sue permalink
    01/07/2012 12:35 PM

    Holy crap, Sister! Those are some super-fast splits! Way to rock the run AND be social!

    • Suzanne permalink*
      01/07/2012 12:50 PM

      I heard they were a speed-ish bunch so when I emailed one of the leaders I asked about pace, which he said ranged between 7:30 and 9:30 but I was last in at 8:20-ish. Paying for it now as I ice my leg with frozen green beans.

Leave a Reply

