Skip to content
So there.

12/28/2011

My sister sent me this picture a couple of weeks ago and since then I’ve seen it floating around Facebook. It’s hilarious because it’s true. And I am totally guilty of over-posting running/fitness/gym status updates. I know this. I am self-aware. And I also know that many of my Facebook acquaintances roll their eyeballs at every single one. Whatever.

Last week I posted an exercise-related picture on which a friend commented this:

MY HUSBAND found this hilarious and has chortled about it quite a few times since. MY HUSBAND and his buddies from college are constantly making fun of my Facebook sneaker speak and running ramblings. But I pretty much don’t give a shit, especially since one of them wears Reebok Zigs (snicker, mall sneakers, snicker).

I love running and therefore I post about it. A lot. If you don’t like running then you will find most of everything I put up annoying and/or stupid. That’s fine. Because I hate the pictures of your cats. And your car. And the flan you made. And all the other crap you find awesome that I just don’t. When someone posts on Facebook “Little Johnny is sick! Back to the doctors again!” do I write “Ok, we get it. Your son has a shitty immune system!”? No. Because I just use that thing attached to my computer called a mouse and scroll/click away. If you want to dress your pug up in circus clothes, I will not shit on your dog parade no matter how ludicrous I think that is. I have self-control (mostly).

Even though exercise updates are one of the most complained about Facebook habits, at least I use punctuation and grammar and non-gibberish (“omg cant believe wut i just saw on tv sho crazy people messed up nowdays smack that girl in head for real!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!”), I don’t fish for attention (“Wish I had a reason to smile…”), I don’t invite you to play farm games (“Help me with my barn raising!”), and I don’t challenge you to repost things (“99% of you don’t have the ball sacks to repost this status about supporting 3-legged kitten but I DARE you to!!!”). I’m proud that I take time out each day to workout and I’m not going to pretend I don’t because it might offend the delicate sensibilities of someone who chooses to sit on the couch and Tivo The Bachelor. As they say, different strokes for different folks.

Whatchoo you postin' 'bout, Willis?

 Besides, aren’t these things more annoying?

(Just for the record I heart Christian, my Chilean cousin, with all the Amstel in my heart. I just used him as the example because he posted the perfect example of the running post backlash.)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Lorie permalink
    12/28/2011 3:05 PM

    Post the color of your socks if you believe in equal rights for all pets, gold fish and puggles alike! Someone needs to put their foot down and speak for those who can’t. If you don’t you are dead inside!

    Don’t do that, by the way. I just made it up. I was just thinking that I send you many dumb pictures and you haven’t posted one on your blog so thank you god proving me wrong.

    • Lorie permalink
      12/28/2011 3:06 PM

      That should say thank you “for” proving me wrong but I’m okay with the auto correct.

      • 12/28/2011 9:46 PM

        Lorie, you must continue to send Suzanne awesome pictures because she forwards them to me and 99% of them are hysterical!

  2. Susan permalink
    12/29/2011 10:40 AM

    OMG I think I just saw myself!

Leave a Reply

