Skip to content
8 is the new 10

12/21/2011

Yesterday was a day I would define as “craptacular.” I woke up to find that the kids had lovingly shared their petri-dish school germs with me. I was achy, congested, and the pressure on my sinuses was not unlike bricks sitting on my face. So of course the kids wouldn’t tear their eyeballs away from the TV to get ready for school and the dog was in Psycho Beagle Destructor Mode, and from there the morning went from bad to worse. To say I lost my shit would be an understatement. I yelled at the kids, I yelled at the dog, I yelled at MY HUSBAND, and I yelled at Buddy, our Elf on the Shelf. No one was safe from my wrath!

I finally got the kids to school (late), and engaged in some (very rare) retail therapy. I was psyched to score a pair adorable ankle boots for Madylin on sale. They are pink with big purple, green, and blue buttons down the side. Best part–they were 90% off at Kohls! But I still had a dark cloud following me all day, and even though I finished my Christmas shopping WITHOUT waiting on-line at Old Navy, I was still very grumpy and extraordinarily low on patience. When I snapped at MY HUSBAND over pulled pork sandwiches, I decided enough was enough. After 8 days, I laced up my Mizunos and headed out for a run.

It was amazing! I don’t know if I ever appreciated a run as much as I did last night. It was dark and just a touch on the chilly side (damn that wind whipping down St. Paul!), but it felt like the perfect conditions! I ran to work off some stress, to put my bad mood behind me, and to get the cobwebs out after a week and change of not running. I ran because it is truly the best medicine. I immediately felt better and my heart was smiling the whole time. I was having so much fun, I didn’t even realize how fast I was going until I got home and saw my last mile was a sub-8:00.

So I didn’t make it to my 10 full days off, but that’s ok. Everything felt ok last night, and I will continue to be cautious with my training. I signed up for a Deep Water Workout class on Thursday nights, and I’ll keep strength training a top priority. I think last night my mental health was more important than an occasionally sore adductor. Oh, how I missed thee, running!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

