Skip to content
Running Hiatus: Days 6 – 8

12/19/2011

I typically don’t post over the weekend, especially now that I am working at TNVGRFS. I wake up, workout, shower and eat in a frenzy, and then go pimp sneakers and apparel. This weekend my blogging output looked downright perilous when MY HUSBAND diagnosed our desktop with a virus. I did click on a link last week to see the leaked Lindsay Lohan pics (Your Honor, I plead Morbid Curiosity!) so I am pretty sure the computer has some strain of PC chlamydia.

My iPhone can do amazing things, but blogging from it is not one of those amazing things. I am now relegated to the iPad (Steve Jobs isn’t gone–he is all around us!). I can type and post but pictures, videos, and links are a pain in the ass to insert. This means until my desktop gets a good antibiotic and MY HUSBAND reinstalls Windows, RFDFD is going to suck (more than usual). How timely–Friday was my super all-time high in blog views. So close to internetwebs fame… Yet so, so, so very far.

I have 3 days left of my self-imposed running hiatus. As much as this break sucks, it was definitely a smart decision. Those little aches and pains I’ve been living with for months are all but gone, and I’ve been able to catch up on sleep and give some love to my non-running muscles. But I still can’t wait until Thursday!

I’m thisclose to registering for the Lake Effects Half Marathon in February. It’s located about 90 minutes away, but a 10:30 start means I wouldn’t have to leave at 4:00 AM to get there. It’s a double-loop, small-town race–my fave! I’ve built this into my BPAC training as a step-down/tune-up week (I think I just made that up) anyway, but if I register before 12/31/11, the race is only $35 and I get my name printed on my bib which means I can strut around like I’m Kara and Paula and Deena all rolled into one slow package and outfitted in mom jeans.

And speaking of awesome clothes–we got this New Balance jacket at the store that is INSANE. I love it! It’s a quarter-zip which technically makes it a mid-layer, but the brushed fleece lining and front wind-blocker panels makes it warmer than most of our cold-weather shells and outer layers. It’s semi-fitted so it won’t be baggy but isn’t like a corset that you have to buy up 2-sizes (I’m looking at YOU, Nike!). It’s a jacket my grandma would have called “sharp” and made me feel bounty hunteresque when I tried it on. I’d like to include a picture of my favorite new thing that I am dying to own, but I am under blogging constraints. Just google “Women’s New Balance NBx Windblocker Halfzip.” I can’t always do all the work for you, anyway.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/19/2011 10:10 AM

    A half marathon in February sounds awesome! I love the bibs with my name on them.

  2. 12/19/2011 10:29 AM

    I’m running a half on February 12. But since it’s not an “official” half (part of local running club’s Winter Series that just happens to be 13.1 miles) it costs a mere $5 and we get NO BIB at all. Whatever. My bib would read “Middle-of-the-Pack” anyway!

    • Suzanne permalink*
      12/19/2011 10:51 AM

      I’d do no bib for $5!

      • Sue permalink
        12/19/2011 11:02 AM

        Seriously! The Winter Series is $40 for all 12 races or $5 per race. I’d run more but they’re on Sundays and I have to go to church and beg the Dear Lord and Baby Jesus for forgiveness.

  3. 08/21/2014 10:14 AM

    Hi there, all is going well here and ofcourse every
    one is sharing information, that’s actually good, keep up writing.

  4. 09/18/2014 11:14 AM

    Tae Soo Do, an undergraduate version was created in 1990 because Hwa Rang Do is very complicated
    and difficult for most present day students.
    As the title of this article indicates, we have to focus
    on more details about the BEST self defense items. The only Black Belt that has any street
    credibility now is a Gracie, Machado, or a few other Brazilian Jiu Jitsu Black
    Belts.

Leave a Reply

