Skip to content
Running Hiatus: Day 5

12/16/2011

Anyone expecting The Week in Workouts today, will find themselves shit out of luck. Since my BPAC training schedule starts on a Monday, I am going to make everything start on a Monday (you know, for consistency’s sake). This means (for the calendar-challenged among you) TWIW will henceforth be posted on Sundays. But as far as I know, this really only affects (effects? dammit, which one is it?) Sole Sista Sue.

Other than that, I don’t have too much stuff quasi-related to running I can ramble on about. I miss running and I’m cranky as hell, but I am now halfway through my self-imposed hiatus. I’ve been working out so many neglected areas, that I’ve been more sore and more tired which may defeat the purpose of this whole “rest” period. At least it is different muscle groups. I think.

I NEED this shirt.

I’ve also added sit-ups and push-ups before bed each night. I may have mentioned this addition, but I don’t think I mentioned what spurred my sudden nocturnal motivation. There’s a high school girl who works weekends at TNVGRFS (not its real acronym). She’s a great kid–runs cross-country and indoor track, plays lacrosse, has a job, gets good grades, doesn’t dress like a whore, laughs at my jokes–you know, all the important stuff. She’s even offered to baby-sit my kids, and I am totally going to take her up on that so MY HUSBAND and I can make out in the back booth at Applebees. Sarah (her real name) mentioned that she does 200 sit-ups and 100 push-ups every  night before bed. My super competitive instincts suddenly kicked into overdrive and I thought nothing but (please read the following in a robot voice) “I MUST DEFEAT THIS GIRL! I MUST CRUSH THE JUNIOR IN HIGH SCHOOL WITH ALL MY MIGHT!!!” Sick, right? But you know what else will be sick? My abs and arms–so suck it, Prom Queen!!!

I snapped a "Before" picture for you this morning. Watch out world!!!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/16/2011 2:32 PM

    TWIW is henceforth being moved to SUNDAY? Really? What the eff am I going to do ALL DAY on Fridays now that I don’t have TWIW to look forward to? This AFFECTS me greatly and is going to have profound EFFECTS on my week.

    • Suzanne permalink*
      12/16/2011 9:40 PM

      Because I posted nothing else today?

  2. 12/16/2011 7:34 PM

    good for you for being up to that kind of challenge. I’ve been doing pushups every night before bed for over a year, and 20 is still hard. WTF is up with that? The most I can manage ever is 30.

    • Suzanne permalink*
      12/16/2011 8:09 PM

      Push-ups are hard! I give mad props to your 20!

  3. 12/16/2011 9:04 PM

    I’ve thought about doing sit ups since you posted about it the other day. So that’s something.

  4. 12/21/2011 11:18 AM

    I totally get your competitiveness with the young. I took a kickboxing class at the local university last semester and was almost 20 years older than EVERYONE in the class. It was a super hard class but I REFUSED to drop before someone that was old enough to be my child. It proved that I had strength and endurance in me that I never thought possible. Sometime stubbornness = kickassness. I say to shoot for 400 situps and 200 pushups every night to SHOW HER!

    • Suzanne permalink*
      12/22/2011 9:50 AM

      Then you will love today’s blog post (12/22/11)!

Leave a Reply

