Skip to content
Today’s post was written purely to shut Sue up. In a nice way. Hearts to my running bestie.

12/09/2011

Training for BPAC 6 Hour Distance Classic begins the day after Christmas. Ideally, I’d start on Christmas but I think MY VERY TOLERANT HUSBAND would not be so tolerant of that. It’s pretty impossible to wake up before kids on Christmas morning and I can’t ask three kids to ignore the bikes next to the Christmas tree while mommy goes for a 10 mile run. Although… there’s always that weird lull Christmas afternoon when everyone crashes from all the unwrapping and no one (me) is drunk yet…

First things first, I need to find me a training plan. I’ve googled and googled and there just doesn’t seem to be any for 6-hour races online. I’ve found some threads on message boards that suggest following a 50K training plan which makes a lot of sense (about the same distance will be covered, give or take). The big thing is getting used to running on tired legs which means back-to-back long runs. This part has me the most nervous because I rarely run two days in a row. I am hyper-something (vigilant? paranoid?) about overuse injuries so I like a day in-between runs, but now I will be running long runs both Saturday and Sunday. I trained for and ran the marathon because I felt that I “had” to (it was about time!) but the 6-hour is something I really, really, REALLY want to do and I’m scared that I won’t even make it to the starting line. But I’ll never know unless I start training, so the hunt for a schedule continues…

In other news, I did two full shoe fits at work this week. I was shadowed both times and I think I did pretty well. The only part that gets me is when I have to take a video of the customer running/walking on the treadmill and then play it back frame by frame to show them what they are doing. I can see the heel strike, the overpronation, the whatever but articulating that to the customer in terms he or she can understand is difficult for me. I need to remember that many of our customers are brand new runners and/or have never gone through a formal shoe fitting (going to Dicks and saying “Do you have this in a size 8?” is not a shoe fit), so I need to learn to communicate what I see on film in a clear, concise, comprehensible, and quick way. Therein lies the challenge.

With both shoe fits I sold a pair of Superfeet (actually, I sold TWO pairs at the second fit) because I think I do a good job of explain the benefits of having an insert. So now, because Sue has been nagging the shit out of me, I will explain (again) why inserts are good. Everyone who is not Sue may now stop reading. If you do not stop reading, it is your own damn fault when you are bored to tears.

This is your last chance to click away!

Seriously!

I mean it!

You have been warned!

Are you some sort of glutton for punishment?

What’s wrong with you?

Why are you still here?

You must hate yourself!

WTF?

Ok, if you insist, self loather…

Your feet were not made to wear shoes but they were also not made to walk on paved surfaces. If we were all still on grass/dirt/woodchips/other nature surfaces, we’d be good to go. But we aren’t. So we wear sneakers, and while sneakers help protect our feet, they still don’t correct our biomechanics or take away the shock our legs absorb hitting a hard surface over and over and over again (and when you run that shock is 3-4 times your body weight). Sneakers correct from the outside in–if you overpronate, a stability shoe will decelerate that inward roll and guide your foot back to where it should be. However, your foot is still flattening out inside the shoe which means your ankles, knees, hips, and lower back are mis-aligning with every stride.

Take the sock liner out of your sneaker and look inside–it’s completely hallow. There is no shape to it and the flimsy sock liner is designed purely to keep your foot off the stitching. Shoe manufacturers do this so their shoe can fit as many customers as possible (dollar dollar bills!). An insert will personalize the shoe for the runner. If you overpronoate, an insert will give you arch support and reduce foot elongation. If you have a neutral arch, inserts will help increase shock absorption, and if you have high arches you will experience better weight distribution inside the shoe. Getting matched up with right type of shoe and insert for your foot will provide you with the best support out on the roads. You will see a decrease in injuries such as shin splints, ITBS, Plantar Fasciitis, and hip/lower back pain thereby increasing your overall performance and longevity.

And that concludes our nerdarific portion of today’s blog. Are you happy, Sue?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/09/2011 8:28 PM

    Do you take out the sock liner or do you keep the sock liner it with the inserts?

    • Suzanne permalink*
      12/12/2011 8:29 AM

      Take the sock liner out.

Leave a Reply

