Skip to content
MY HUSBAND called me “A running Christmas tree” this morning.

12/08/2011

I love many things about my pre-dawn runs. I love the quiet. I love the solitude. I love feeling like a badass because most of the world is still sleeping while I am logging miles. But I mostly love the lack of a-hole drivers at that time of day. However, the few a-hole drivers that are out are not expecting a runner to cross their a-hole path, so it is really important to make yourself visible. Enter my new flashy light!

My best side--the back!

A reflective vest is all fine and dandy so long as an a-hole driver’s headlights directly hit the strips/tape/piping. Otherwise, a reflective vest does nothing. And after my run Tuesday morning where I saw an astounding number of a-hole drivers flying through stop signs, I decided I needed more than a vest and smarts. I needed to start being obnoxious.

I picked up the DuraVision 180 Pro Saftey Light at work yesterday. It cost only $10 and comes in a variety of colors in case that sort of thing matters to you. I chose green in case that sort of thing matters to you, too. There’s 5 different settings: on, blinking fast, blinking slow, lights alternate blinking in pairs, and lights alternate blinking in pairs so fast it may cause a seizure. It clips on to anything, and if you are super good at deciphering fuzzy pictures then your CSI sleuthing self can tell that I clipped mine onto my UA hat. I plan on clipping it to Madylin when she runs the 5K on Saturday since it starts at dusk and she is tiny. Plus, it is a Christmas themed race so everyone will think “Look at that festive girl! Her mom is so very clever!”

Another piece of gear that I think is pretty damn awesome (but do not own… yet) is the Nike Superfly Reflective Hat. It offers 360 degrees of reflectivity, so you aren’t just visible from directly in front or directly in back. The fabric is seam-sealed which means it water-resistant, and the material is designed to keep you warm this winter without overheating.

I used to think that neony and shiny and reflecty and blinky running apparel/accessories was lame. But now that I am way old and way wise, I know how important it is to take every precaution necessary to be seen out there. The roads and sidewalks can be dangerous for runners and cyclists, and I highly recommend asking for a few safety pieces in your stocking this Christmas. It’s worth it. You’re worth it.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/08/2011 9:55 AM

    Another fine PSA from Suzanne. Thanks!
    But I am REALLY upset that you did not even once mention anything about your Superfeet tutorial workshop class lesson. :-(

    • Suzanne permalink*
      12/08/2011 10:02 AM

      The Superfeet tutorial workshop class lesson was pretty much the same info I’ve shared in posts but including some biomechanics and how to sell them to customers. Even though they are a proven product, we need to be able to convey the benefits during our shoe fits instead of like “Insert feel good foot. Keep hip in line knees.”

      • 12/08/2011 10:12 AM

        You have to keep uber-nerds like myself in the know, you know?

Leave a Reply

