Skip to content
A Very Merry Walsh Family Mega Burger Christmas to you!

12/07/2011

Today was the third day this week I slept in, finally rolling my lazy ass out of bed at 7:30. For some 7:30 is early but for me, it is practically the afternoon. When I get slothy like this I know it is time to take a day off, and I probably really need one. I haven’t had a non-workout day since the weekend I went to go see Sue rock out in Philly. I haven’t been running every day, but I have been exercising for at least an hour, and the new addition of squats, lunges, leg lifts, et cetera is literally kicking my ass.

One more day and then I get a day and a half off.

Sigh.

Saturday is my last race of 2011. I’ve only run a few 5Ks this year (2? 3?). I wasn’t too psyched about the results for any of them, even though my focus this year was long stuff. It’s hard to crank out a speedy 5K when you are training for halfs and fulls and 10 milers, but I really want to break 23:00, something I haven’t done since August 2006. Based on my training runs lately, I think I could. I am in shape to… but I don’t know if I will. Traditionally, I implode when I put a lot of pressure on myself. And second, winter might maybe possibly arrive in Western New York this weekend. The race is an hour away, but it is pretty safe to assume that if we get snow here, they’re getting snow there… unless it is Lake Effect Snow. Then we are sole beneficiaries. Have I mentioned the lake is less than 5 miles from my house? Stupid Canadian bodies of water.

So even though I want to end the year on a high note, I know there are certain things I can’t control. I am not going to go balls out on an icy or slushy course if that’s what the day brings. Luckily, I picked a good race to enjoy the view if I can’t sprint past it! It’s a Wonderful Run 5K takes place in Seneca Falls, which was the inspiration for Bedford Falls in It’s a Wonderful Life. I’ve never seen It’s a Wonderful Life, but I saw that episode of Beverly Hills 90210 where the voices save the bus from colliding with a drunk garbage truck and an angel gets her wings. Also, Steve Sanders dresses up like Santa and he and Mrs Teasley make out. As per my understanding of Classic American Cinema, the same thing happens with George Bailey and his buddies at the Peach Pit.

The race starts on the famous bridge at dusk (4:40 PM). The whole town is lit up and there is plenty of merriment to go around, including costumes aplenty. The final stretch is down main street, which is still an old-fashioned pretty main street. You know, Target hasn’t moved in yet. The race is only 4 years old and has grown from 200 to 1600–pretty impressive for a small, upstate town. Mady and my niece Kaylee are running together (the second 5K for both of them), and it should be a really nice holiday event no matter what my chip time may be.

Invite a homeless Santa into your house for Christmas... just be sure to hide your jewelry!

Be sure to visit your crazy girlfriend in rehab or she'll set you on fire!

I hope you don't find out that your birth mother is dead this Christmas.

And may everyone get to visit their dad in prison!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 12/07/2011 1:57 PM

    I absolutely love 90210, but that was the worst episode ever. That whole year was pretty bad. Emily Valentine – puke. They dragged that whole Brandon-Emily thing out for way too long. And Kelly and Brenda asking Dylan to choose one? Sick. Dylan should be with Brenda, of course (or the noxema girl, but that marriage ended quickly with her getting shot and all).

    • Suzanne permalink*
      12/07/2011 2:06 PM

      I’m pretty sure I mashed together two Christmas episodes of 90210, but whatever. If I am supposed to believe that God intervened to make the bus not crash, then you can all believe that that stuff all happened the same year. And speaking of Christmas, I swore on Baby Jesus that I would no longer watch 90210 when Brandon and Kelly didn’t go through with their wedding but still I sat through the tortorous last few seasons looking at Noah’s bug eyes and watching the nerdy-now-slutty girl from Charles in Charge sex David up on the floor of Now Wear This.

      • 12/07/2011 4:23 PM

        That totally pissed me off – Brandon and Kelly cancelling the wedding. What the hell? And yeah – that girl was a total slut, but could totally rock the short hair thing. That may be the worst ever store name. Maybe that was 2 different epsisodes, now that you mention it. Must be slipping. BTW – I love It’s a Wonderful Life. Total WWII propaganda film, and a bit too long, but still good. Way better than the 90210 episode. Can’t wait to see the race pics.

Leave a Reply

