Skip to content
Thankful Thanksgiving

11/24/2011

2011 was definitely a roller coaster year, with plenty of ups and downs and in-betweens. Even thought I did not have a baby this year, our lives have changed so much from November 2010. There was the new house, the new dog, the new school… a lot of new, new, news. Change can be hard but this year it was all for the better.

I am thankful for our house. A year ago, we were renting a row home outside Philadelphia and with the economy in such poor shape, we truly thought that home ownership was out of our reach for at least several more years. There was nothing we wanted more than a house with a nice yard for our kids to run around and play. And in July we were able to buy my perfect little dream house–and olde tyme-y built in 1928 with a big front porch, a playroom for the kids, and a giant backyard. Every time I pull in the driveway I am so happy and feel so blessed!

I am thankful for all the generous family and friend who have donated to Roswell Park Cancer Institute every time I asked. The work they do at Roswell has become so important to us, and I truly appreciate every single person’s generosity. Each donation truly touches my heart.

I am thankful that my kids are healthy. Aside from a bellyache or the sniffles here and there, they never get sick. I have never had to take my kids to the doctor aside from their yearly well visits. They’ve never had to take a prescription and I’ve never had to take a rectal temperature. That’s a win-win that I am beyond thankful for.

I am thankful for running. It is my sanity, my stress relief, and my passion. I love it, and would be unhealthy and unhappy if I were not a runner. I feel thankful I made it through the year without an injury and have been able to use my love of running to raise money for Roswell Park Cancer Institute. Although I am extremely humbled (and slightly incredulous) when people say I inspire them, I am thankful that an activity I love may have motivated some people to live a healthier lifestyle and take better care of their bodies–both mentally and physically. I am also thankful for the example it sets for my children.

 I am thankful for MY HUSBAND. He gets beat up a whole bunch on this blog, but honestly, he is truly the most supportive husband in the world. He lets me run when I need to run (and is at EVERY finish line cheering for me), and he rarely complains about all the volunteering I do at the kids’ school and with Girl Scouts. He knows doing these things makes me happy and it makes the kids happy to have an involved mommy. He works hard at a job he hates so we can have our house and the kids can play soccer, basketball, and lacrosse and attend parochial school. He is steady and calm where I am crazy and crazy, and I think we make a pretty good match. And once he pays off that minivan with a VCR in it, I’ll love him even more.

LOOOOOOOOVE!
3 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/25/2011 5:54 PM

    I am thankful for my big sister; especially that you were willing to drive your minivan with a VCR in it to visit me from Canada twice.

  2. 11/28/2011 1:28 PM

    You included Brian’s favorite picture! You included Brian’s favorite picture! Now THAT’S something we should all be thankful for!

    • Suzanne permalink*
      11/28/2011 1:41 PM

      I love that picture and he hates it. So of course that’s the one I used.

Leave a Reply

