Skip to content
Cheesesteaks for everyone!

11/19/2011

I’m headed to the City of Brotherly Love (I never really got that impression, but whatever) to watch Sole Sista Sue beat the eff out of 26.2 miles. We made a pact that 2011 was The Year We Stopped Being Afraid of the Marathon and this weekend is Sue’s turn to hold up her half of the deal in the Philadelphia Marathon. I have to make some signs but I don’t know what to write on them. So far I’ve only ruled out: SUE IS A DIVA (cup)

I’m going to meet HER HUSBAND at mile 9 and with some short ping-pongs back and forth, we should be able to see Sue at miles 9, 12, 14, and 26. HER HUSBAND was very concerned about how much walking would be involved in Operation: Cheer for Sue because he will be lugging a big cooler of beer with him. Only Pennsylvanians would tailgate at a marathon! I think that it would make the day double fun if he drank a beer for every mile Sue ran. (Sue, let YOUR HUSBAND know that a challenge has been issued.)

Sue has been training for the big day with The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society’s Team in Training. She is dedicating each mile to someone who is currently fighting cancer (including my mother-in-law) or has lost their battle with this horrible disease (especially her father-in-law). Please check out her fundraising page because she has done an amazing job and has already surpassing her goal. Runners love helping to kick cancer’s ass!!!

And while I’ve got my pom-poms out (and my breasts), I’ll be cheering for high school and Pennsylvania chum Steph who will be tacking on her 2nd half marathon tomorrow. Ladies, RUN FAST AND DON’T FALL DOWN!!

I'll be wearing this EXACT outfit tomorrow so Sue can't miss me on the course!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

