Skip to content
Underwear!

11/18/2011

My dad subscribed to my blog and the first post delivered to his inbox is about his daughter’s underpants. I’ve bet he’s NEVER been THIS proud.

Not my dad. Or is it...?

I was flabbergasted when I realized only a small number of runners wear underwear. Mostly everyone on the roads is… COMMANDO!!! This is clown shoes!!! I need my precious bits to be protected from the elements and a thin piece of synthetic fabric is not going to cut it. When it is winter and I am wearing tights, I can’t relay on a shiny piece of nothing to keep my nether regions unfrostbitten! I understand the bare booty in regular running shorts since most brands have briefs built-in, and even I’ve finally stopped “doubling up.” However, if there is no brief or liner built-in, I’ve got underpants securely ON.

Who needs wicking properties with underwear this HOT?

The problem with wearing underwear when you workout is that you sweat and cotton holds moisture against your skin. This means in the summer, your bottom half ends up like the bayou, and in the winter, you end up with icicles where icicles should never be. If I didn’t change my clothes immediately following a run, it could make for some uncomfortable, um, conditions below.

Enter the Moving Comfort Workout Bikini!

After carrying three human babies I don't look like this in them, but the Moving Comfort Workout Bikini was still super comfortable!

I decided to use my employee discount to give these cute bloomers a try. I put them through a 24-hour test of real-life endurance–chasing my kids, sitting my ass in front of the computer, working a shift at The Very Good Run Fast Shoppe (not its real name), buying beer at Wegmans, sleeping, and an 80-minute workout. And the verdict is a very enthusiastic thumbs up!

The material is so soft it must be a mix of butterfly kisses, baby chick down, and unicorn tail fibers. I demanded MY HUSBAND touch my butt (yes, on purpose!) so he could feel how smooth the underwear felt. He gave a half-hearted “Ooh!” but I know he really meant “DAAAAAAMN GIRL!!!”

They stayed put–no wedgies or (I’m going there) camel toe (I went there). The seamless design eliminates VPLs  (Visible Panty Lines, duh!), and the breathable strip of soft meshy fabric at the lower back is perfect. While you work out the underwear wicks moisture away from your skin keeping you comfortable and dry. Moving Comfort underwear comes in bikini, thong, or boy short styles in white, blue, surf (Moving Comfort’s fancy word for light blue), and latte (nude/beige). You can find them online or in specialty shops for $14-$18. I’m totally going to stock up because they are way better than my 5-for$20 underwear from Target.

Moving Comfort sells a lot of other cute running/workout gear like their best-selling sports bras, tops, bottoms, and accessories at a pretty affordable price. However, if you visit their website and create a holiday wish list between now and December 9th you will be entered into a sweepstakes to win up to $300 of Moving Comfort merchandise! Yaaaaaaaay Christmas contests! I’d wish you all “Good luck!” but I’m totally going to win so I’ll say “Better luck next year!” instead.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/18/2011 3:58 PM

    Did your dad unsubscribe yet? ;)

  2. Sue permalink
    11/18/2011 6:22 PM

    This is ALMOST like the time my unsuspecting dad came across pictures of me in a wet t-shirt contest. Such a proud parent he was!

    • Suzanne permalink*
      11/18/2011 7:56 PM

      Um, yes, almost just like that.

Leave a Reply

