Skip to content
I’m a total hoser, eh.

11/15/2011

Ok, now my legs really, really hurt. They feel like they were punched 89 times by 52 1st grade girls. My calves and ankles are particularly sore but my quads, glutes, and hips are feeling pretty crapalicious too. I feel like a walking bruise.

They (who?) always say you (who?) are the most sore 48 hours later, but it is now 57 hours (and counting) since I finished The Mighty Mighty Mountain Ego Bashing. So what’s with the sudden onset of achy breaky legs?

Making me feel even worse are the other people who ran this race! On Tuesday nights there is a group run that meets at The Very Good Run Fast Shoppe (not its real name) and many of those runners did the Over the River and Through the Woods and Up Forty Hills race too. Tonight they were chortling and saying things like “Well, that was a little bit of a doozy! I’ve never had more fun in my WHOLE LIFE!” And when I said “That was the hardest thing I have ever done ever and I squeezed three babies out of my lady parts. That race made me want to DIE!” (I didn’t really say the last 2/3 of that but I TOTALLY thought it), I got an incredulous “REALLY???” followed by:

  • Are you new to running?
  • Was it your first race?
  • Have you ever run that far before?
  • What’s that accent–are you from New England?

Although I find the last question the most insulting of all, it is pretty damn apparent that I am going to need to step up my game here in Canadia. These ham steak eatin’ maple syrup lickers aren’t fucking around!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Danielle Whipple Marvel permalink
    11/15/2011 10:11 PM

    LMAO!!!! Great post!!! Hope you feel better soon. Did you hydrate enough? If not, you may need more buzzy drinks to ease the pain :)

    • Suzanne permalink*
      11/16/2011 7:57 AM

      During the race I carried a handheld with 1/2 Gatorade 1/2 water. I probably didn’t drink from it enough but it was hard to drink and write self-loathing entries into my Diary at the same time.

Leave a Reply

