Skip to content
Did somebody say “cake”?

11/15/2011

A normal person probably would have given themself a day (or two) to recover from the 11 Mile Trail Run of Death. But I am not so much a normal person.

Dumbassness is a family trait.

The day after a big race/run (like yesterday) I like to get out and do an easy 30 minutes. It helps me feel less stiff and gets some of that healing blood flowing through the muscles. Which means I probably could have NOT run today, but I did. I am planning to make the leap to “distances beyond 26.2” this spring and have been asking ultrarunners how they started training for these events. The one thing I have heard over and over again is that you need to get used to running on tired legs. So today I ran on tired legs.

The key to getting ready for an ultra seems to be the back-to-back long runs. This really gets your legs prepared to keep going when they just. don’t. want. to. I’ve been slowly trying to get ready for this by running on a day like today, running after lower body weights instead of before, and adding a second workout in a few days a week. I’m hoping by starting out small, when I begin to demand a lot more of my gams at the start of 2012, the transition will be easier

Look at me acting like I know what I am taking about and making stuff up to convince myself this training isn’t going to hurt or make me cry!

I’ve always been fascinated by the world of ultrarunning and devoured books like Ultramarathon Man, The Extra Mile, Born to Run, and Running on Empty. The feats that these runners have accomplished are extraordinary! Reading about Leadville, Badwater, and Western States makes me feel like a fool for even calling the 6-hour race and the 50K I have planned “ultras.” They may fall under the same category, but the are two totally different breeds if you ask me. Not that finishing a 50K, 6-hour, 60K, or 50-miler is not an incredible accomplishement–it most certainly is, but I wish there was an in-betweeny name like “super marathon” or “marathon plus 1” or “a little more crazy than a marathoner but not quite as batshit crazy as those guys doing 100 miles.” Because I am not, nor will I ever be, a Scott Jurek.

All I need now is a solid training plan and for my right hip not to fall off.  Piece of cake, right?

One Comment leave one →
  1. Lorie permalink
    11/16/2011 4:22 PM

    I forgot about that picture. I guess being a dumbass really does run in the family. Except for mady. She looked adorable.

Leave a Reply

