Skip to content
This post may bore you. You have been warned.

11/09/2011

My first run with the New Balance 860s wasn’t nearly as fun as my first run withe the Mizuno Wave Inspire 8s. Mostly because it ended with a blister on the top of my foot. I was going to include a picture of the blister in this post but no matter the camera angle it looked like the picture of herpes from your high school health text-book that is meant to scare you straight (and by “straight” I mean “into not having unprotected sex behind the bleachers after drinking too many Bartles & Jaymes at homecoming”). So you’ve been spared a shot of my new (unsightly but not communicable) foot abrasion. Your welcome.

This is the second picture of these dudes I've posted on RFDFD. Maybe I should start making Zima references.

I’ve been wearing NB for a long time but have been jumping back and forth from Asics to NB this past year. I was actually in love with my NB 766 and was Justin Bieber baby mama sad when they replaced it with the 767. Although it was supposed to be an update, the 767 did not fit the same–it seemed more narrow, the toe box was taller, and they laces were weirdsies (that’s an industry term, folks). I was not a fan, and started to defect to Asics but still bought an occasional pair of NB (I ran the marathon in my NB trail shoes which are more of a road/trail hybrid).

These babies carried me in comfort over 26.2

Anywho, the NB 860 V2 is due in stores any day and got a tremendous write-up in the December 2011 issue of Runner’s World (it was named Editor’s Choice for the “Winter Shoe Guide”). Fans of the original 860 are calling The Very Good Run Fast Shoppe almost daily to see if it is stock yet. I don’t have a disposable income (the updated V2 retails at $110), but I wanted to see what the hype around this shoe was all about. The first generation 860 is an updated-updated-updated-updated(…) version of my beloved 766 and was currently on sale at Running Warehouse for $68 (which I combined with an addition Facebook 25% discount–score one for the usually un-savvy shopper!). They were on my doorstep just a few days later.

I posted pictures of the 860s last night because a) I wanted to brag about my new acquisition and 2) I couldn’t get over the size of the medial post. It’s a monster! The shoes specs are the same as any other stability shoe–30 mm heel, 12 mm heel-toe drop, 10.1 ounces (1.6 ounces more than the lighter Mizuno Inspires)–but it looks like a giant Frankenfoot. I could hear my pancake arches sighing in relief at the sight of them.

(Are you bored yet? It’s ok to answer “Yes.”)

I took them out for a test run after lifting weights this morning. They felt very cushy, but they tongue seemed too thick and too short especially if you wanted to lace through all the eyelets. I should have pulled the laces tighter because of  this but it was early (5:15 AM) and I am kinda lazy. When I hit the pavement 70 minutes later I could feel that they were loose–especially the left one–and I thought “Should I stop and re-tie them?” but then I thought “Nah… It’s only a 30 minute run. I’ll be fine.” So it is mostly my fault I now have a foot herp.

Aside from all the extra room around the collar, I did like the overall feel. They felt supportive enough to carry me through long runs injury free, and they were not at all clunky despite their bloated appearance. I need to take them for another spin–with the laces pulled tighter!–but I think they will be a good distance trainer. Just not as cute and airy as the Mizunos… sad face emoticon.

It was an ok first outing but, like I said, I need to reserve final judgement. So I will give them an “Eh.” with possible “Thumbs up!” upgrade.

Eh.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/09/2011 10:55 AM

    “Foot herp” Bahahaha!

    • Suzanne permalink*
      11/09/2011 11:01 AM

      It’s pretty crazy how much I know about science and medicine.

  2. 11/09/2011 1:02 PM

    i never knew there was so much to know about running sneakers. I just always picked mine out based on how cute they were.

    • Suzanne permalink*
      11/09/2011 1:10 PM

      Well now good sneakers are cute so it is a win-win! You have no excuse not to start running now (aside from hating it).

  3. 11/09/2011 8:05 PM

    Those things are monsters. When you’re done running in them, you can use them as planters for your spring petunias.

    • Suzanne permalink*
      11/10/2011 9:38 AM

      Not too shabby of an idea!

Leave a Reply

