Skip to content
“Uh, well, you know, I don’t know. It’s hard to explain. You know.”

10/11/2011

Today I had an interview at a running store. Because the last thing I need in my mailbox is another Cease & Desist letter, I will refer to it as The Very Good Run Fast Shoppe. I very much want to work for the The Very Good Run Fast Shoppe but I don’t know how much they want to hire people who come across as completely inarticulate.  My halting gibberish speak hit an all-time awkward high when I was asked my salary expectations. I started saying really stupid shit like “You know, um, you know. Money is nice, you know. But like I’m not in it for the riches. You know, kinda like being a librarian. I didn’t do it for the money. You gotta like what you do, you know, that’s important, to like it. But money is nice, you know, to pay the bills. Bills and stuff. You know, more than minimum wage would be nice. But like, I don’t know… This is a hard question.” I was like every Michael Cera character combined and then on crack. Seriously, WTF is wrong with me?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/30/2011 11:42 AM

    Yes, it seems we sound identical on interviews. Its amazing I’ve ever been hired for a job my whole life.

    • Suzanne permalink*
      10/30/2011 2:21 PM

      Maybe we get hired for our quirky charm.

Leave a Reply

