Skip to content
In other (non-marathon) running news…

10/03/2011

I’m trying to plan out my race schedule for the upcoming year. When I ran for LIRRC, I pretty much raced every single weekend, but that was injuries/babies/years ago. I’m kinda bored with the road 5K and with race costs reaching $25-30 for less than 24:00, it’s not worth hurting my old lady bones and my bank account. So I am trying to find a few select races each year that are new/fun/interesting/different/not a jillion dollars.

I think I did pretty well in 2010 with the Cherry Blossom 10 Mile Run in Washington DC, the Pickle Runs (oddball winter trail runs with awards to the runners who most closely predict their finishing times), Warrior Dash, 1/2 Sauer 1/2 Kraut Half Marathon, and Midnight Madness. Even my upcoming marathon is not your standard first marathon. The Century Marathon is in a small town near Oswego, NY that had 33 finishers last year–the exact opposite of all the Rock ‘n Roll races and their glossy full-page ads in Runner’s World. I didn’t want pomp and circumstance–I wanted an affordable race with beautiful scenery. $55 and a double loop around a lake? I think I lucked out with this one!

With the 20in24 Relay Challenge picked out for the summer, I am still debating my spring event. There a few races that I am interested in–the Mt. Penn Mudfest (a race I’ve always wanted to do and was actually registered for in 2007, but I was still healing from my stress fracture and was a DNS), River Challenge Triathalon (run, bike, kayak!), and Sehgahunda Trail Marathon (26.3 super tough miles). But the one race I keep coming back to is the BPAC 6 Hour Distance Classic. I really want to try it–it would be like dipping the tip of my toe in the world of ultrarunning. Besides being a great personal challenge, I was thinking I could get people to sponsor me per mile (like a good old fashioned walk-a-thon) and raise money for Roswell Park Cancer Institute. However, the time of year it is held is holding me back from 100% committing. Mid-April means the bulk of my training would have to be done during a Rochester winter. I cannot do 20-something mile runs on a dread treadmill–there’s just no way. And if I am going to attempt running for 6 hours straight, I need to have a solid training plan. Covering 30+ miles isn’t anything like fudging your way through a 5K.

There’s my dilemma and I luckily have a few months to think about it. If I do decide on the BPAC 6 Hour Distance Classic, I need to start training January 1. In the meantime, I still need to find me that snow-less 5K before this year is out!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/03/2011 11:14 AM

    I fudged my way through a 5k, and I approve that message. I would totally sponser that 6 hour race, and rent a vespa to follow you and cheer you on.

    • Suzanne permalink*
      10/03/2011 11:32 AM

      You ran an 8K, sista! Which reminds me… go to the gym today?

  2. 10/03/2011 12:45 PM

    I have to seriously consider my sanity before agreeing to the Distance Classic. My participation will depend on whether or not Tawnya will let me use her Vespa if/when I collapse.

    • Suzanne permalink*
      10/03/2011 1:10 PM

      You should seriously consider it. And Tawnya BETTER be wearing a beret and smoking skinny cigarettes on that Vespa.

  3. 10/31/2011 9:41 AM

    Reading this makes me feel lazy. Especially considering I haven’t gotten off the couch yet today.

    • 10/31/2011 11:14 AM

      UPDATE: I got off the couch. I changed the baby, showered, dressed (in pajamas), changed the baby, ate some halloween candy, changed the baby, got some water, and now I’m back on the couch.

Leave a Reply

