Skip to content
Rest + Ice + Compression + Elevation = My Least Favorite Acronym

09/29/2011

My most favorite acronym? SCUBA because I learned it from Pee Wee’s Playhouse and it made me feel all smarty.

As soon as I click Publish I am going to slap a bag of frozen peas on my leg. Yes, I am 11 days out from my very first marathon and I have some sort of thing going on with my left calf. I am not going to call it an “injury” because it may just be one of those things that you ice and rest for a day or two and it is gone–but it is certainly bothering me enough to be disconcerting at this stage of the game. I’M TAPERING, DAMMIT! If I was going to get hurt during marathon training, it would have been better if I was taken down weeks ago, not during the last two weeks when I am sleeping more and running less. But that’s Macaulay’s Murphy’s Law. Blerg.

My Lovah is working from home today so after he dropped Sean off at school and I put Mady on the bus, I headed out for an hour run. My left calf was pretty tight from the start but it seemed like it was just a muscle thing that would loosen up as I went on. But it didn’t and seemed to get progressively worse. I felt like any second I would hear a pop or a snap. I stopped at 45:00 and tried massaging it out but that didn’t help, and I decided to loop around and head back home. Except I got kinda sort of lost (read: very lost). Instead of cutting my run short, I wound up running long(er), logging 8.2 miles total. Oops.

My rest day is now bumped up from Saturday to tomorrow and depending how I feel after some RICE and some foam rolling (now where did I put that damn thing…?), I may take Saturday off too. I have a 10-miler planned for Sunday (my last “long” run before the big dance) and I am keeping my fingers crossed that that’s a go. Did I say “blerg” already?

Today’s Workout
Ran 8.2 miles/1:14:40

Wednesday’s Workout:
Stationary Bike (Pikes Peak level 8) 60:00/17.2 miles
Sit-ups 10:00

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Steph permalink
    09/29/2011 5:57 PM

    Oh no, hang tight lady!

  2. 09/29/2011 7:19 PM

    This is absolutely, positively, 100% one of the phantom “things” that happen in the weeks/days leading up to a marathon. I know that for sure. My medical advice to you is to GYARDADRUS, acronym for “Give Yourself Another Rest Day and Don’t Run Until Sunday”. I did not learn that one from Pee Wee, though.

    • Suzanne permalink*
      09/29/2011 7:38 PM

      I’d like to to think that but the pain was pretty acute. Usually those phantom taper pains are dull and vague. But maybe you are right and I am stupid dumb moron. In fact, I’d prefer that.

Leave a Reply

