Skip to content
I’m coming for you, 5K.

09/25/2011

Yesterday I ignored all the things I needed to do–wash laundry, paint kitchen, sex Brian–to tinker with this blog. It was a long, unproductive day of unproductiveness.

In case my 3 blog readers didn’t notice, I added 2 pages: PRs and Race Results. The PRs I added to make myself feel good because I was once fast. And now I am slow. But I want people to know that I was once fast. At 28-years-old I could run faster than I could in high school and I know in my heart of hearts that my 29-year-old self would have ACED the President’s Physical Fitness Test. I thought I was a fine wine–getting better with age. Then I broke my pubis ramis and popped out a couple of big-headed Macaulay babies and now my 34-year-old self resembles a crappy Bartles & Jaymes wine cooler.

Thanks for your support.

But as my old running partner, Bob Monaco, likes to remind me “PRs have a shelf life. After a certain number of years you can’t claim those super awesome times as your super awesome times” (I’m paraphrasing here because Bob is a smarty-pants vet and doesn’t say things like “super awesome”). And it’s true. When I am just breaking 24:00, I’m hardly going to strut around saying I run a 21-minute 5K. I would look like a big liar liar pants on fire. So to put an asterisk on my PRs, I included a Race Results page that lists my finishing times since returning to the scene 18 months ago. I can celebrate my past super awesomeness but also be honest about my current turtlesque times (relatively speaking).

Where’s all this rambling going?

Here: Before 2011 is out, I want another crack at the 5K.

Looking over my times from the last year and a half, I improved by about 3:00. However, since December I haven’t improved at all. I could be reasonable and logical and sensical (yes, it’s a word) and point out to myself that I haven’t been working on speed–I’ve been racing all long stuff (1 10-miler, 3 half marathons, and 1 full marathon coming up). But I am far too competitive for reason. I want to break 23:00 and I want to break it now.

But first I have a 26.2 to conquer, and then I can be all “You’re my bitch, 5K! … Er, relatively speaking.” Which means I need to find a 5K that is after my marathon but before it snows in Western New York. And that is actually going to be tougher than hitting my time goal. Challenge accepted.

Today’s Workout:
Ran 12.1 miles/1:55:03

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/26/2011 8:21 AM

    Did you read today’s AMR post by Dimity? Sounds like both of you are kinda-sorta going through the same thing. And by the way, even in your slow stage you are still faster than I will ever be!

    • Suzanne permalink*
      09/26/2011 8:54 AM

      I didn’t see it. I catch up on all my AMR reading on Humpday days.

Leave a Reply

