Skip to content
What did I do today? Well, I did the dishes, folded laundry, changed some diapers, and ran 20 miles.

09/11/2011

After last Sunday’s abysmal 18-miler I ran right to this blog and cried little school girl tears. I was ready to quit this shit in a major way and just needed one of my (one) blog readers to nudge me over the edge. But the support and encouragement I got on facebook made me decide to stop sobbing around like that big white phallic puppet on Yo Gabba Gabba who is always bringing everyone in Gabba Land down. I regrouped, laced up, and headed out for 20 miles today.

I decided to do 2 10-mile loops so I could switch out my water for a Gatorade-water mix halfway through. Also, something about 2 10-milers seemed less daunting than 1 20-mile run. I planned to have 1/2 a Honey Stinger Waffle at 1:20, 2:00, and 2:40 (roughly 8, 12, and 16 miles). Most importantly, I was going into this run with positive thoughts, remembering ultrarunner Jill Perry’s words from Thursday night “You have to love it.” I was going to love it. Even if it killed me.

After scarfing down a pre-run peanut butter sandwich, I got dressed. It was a chilly morning, perfect weather to test out my new Nike arm warmers that I planned on wearing marathon day. Arm warmers are the opposite of the running skirt. Instead of feeling like every tool in the toolbox, I feel super badass wearing them. Arm warmers say “I may be cool now, but I have the potential to get real HOT!” (Feel free to read that last sentence in a sexy voice.)

From the start, everything went really well. I hunkered down for the long haul. I didn’t worry about pace, but concentrated on sipping my water bottle every 10 minutes and enjoying the nice, fall weather. I finished the first 10.15 mile loop in 1:45 and change. I peeled off my arm warmers, hit the potty (unsuccessfully avoiding the kids), switched out handhelds, and headed back out. Starting that second loop was tough but I was determined to muscle through. When I hit the 5 mile mark, I was so happy–I only had 5 more miles to go and 5 miles is nothing (relatively speaking)! At the corner of Titus and Cooper and I was really psyched, having less than 2 miles to go, and I picked up my pace. Coming down Hudson and looping around Long Acre I actually thought “I could keep running! I feel really good!” Of course I didn’t (better to finish on a high note and all), and I cruised up to my driveway feeling sweaty, tired, sore, and happy. Very, very happy.

Today’s Workout:
Ran 20.3 miles/3:38:02

One Comment leave one →
  1. 11/02/2011 5:59 PM

    I wish I had your motivation and dedication.

Leave a Reply

