Skip to content
The New Face of “Run Fast and Don’t Fall Down”

09/10/2011

Every time I post a picture of Brian on my blog, the daily views skyrockets from a paltry 6 to 50+. It’s not a surprise–he is the Neville Longbottom of Chaminade (for those of you not in the know, Neville was the REAL hero of Harry Potter and is super hot outside the Hogwarts movie set). So without further ado, here is your daily Brian-fix. Drink it in, blog readers. Drink. It. In.

Any now for some really boring, running chatter that you really didn’t come here for…

I’m mentally gearing up for my first (of two) 20-milers tomorrow morning. I’ve decided to do a 2-loop course so I can switch out my water bottle for a half-Gatorade half-water mix at 10-miles. I am also going to try spacing out my Honey Stinger Waffles differently. But I am also going to approach this run with a new mindset.

On Thursday the Montrail rep for Medved was at our weekly trail run. Jill Perry is a mother of 5 and an ultrarunner. She most recently completed the Western States 100 in June and the TransRockies Run, a 6-day 120-mile stage race across some of Colorado’s toughest terrain, in August. So obviously she is pretty badass. Listening to her talk to the other runners as we wound our way through Tryon Park was very interesting and she said one thing in particular that really stuck with me. When asked how she runs for such long periods of time (her training runs are sometimes 8 hours long!!) she answered, “You have to love it.” That simple sentence really made something click in my brain. I profess to love running, and I do, but when I am out on these long marathon training runs, I hate every single minute. I can’t wait for it to be over almost as soon as I start, and I have never felt that way about running before. I am psyching myself out before I even take my first steps, and besides the physical challenge of 14, 16, 18+ miles, my mindset is making covering the distance even more daunting. I love lightbulb moments!

So here’s to tomorrow and remembering to keep my head in the game. Because if I don’t love it, why even bother?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/10/2011 12:01 PM

    Winter in Rochester is going to be a whole lot warmer now that the red-hot Brian Macaulay is tearing up the pavement!

Leave a Reply

