Skip to content
Wah Wah Wah

09/07/2011

Brian thinks I should blog less about running and more about my life. Non-runners don’t realize that to runners, running is life (just nod your head at my circular logic). Running not only keeps me healthy, it keeps me sane. I don’t consider it an occasional hobby, like organizing my Beanie Baby collection or rearranging my extensive cats stuck in a tree poster collection. For me, running is part of who I am–along with mom, wife, daughter, sister, friend, Girl Scout Leader, crazy neighbor always yelling at her kids, librarian, facebook addict, lady trying to buy beer at Target before noon, and the many other hats I wear as I navigate life.

So it goes without saying that a single thing can impact all the facets of my life. Like insomnia. This lack of sleep has made me cranky and moody and irritable and (very) emotional and it is definitely messing up my workouts. Before this summer I was working out 90 minutes a day, 6 days a week. Once school let out and I didn’t have to drop Mady by 7:50 AM each morning, my workouts increased to 2 hours on most days. I devoted that extra time to weight lifting, and I felt fit and strong.

The sleepless nights started after we started planning to move to Rochester. Even though we had 8 weeks until we closed on the house, my mind was cluttered with the lists of things that needed to get done and I was completely overwhelmed by having to pack up all of our STUFF. Those 4:00 AM wake-up calls got harder and harder to make and I found myself adding an extra rest day each week. I figured it was stress and my brain would settle down once we settled in. I thought wrong.

We’ve been here over a month now and the sleepless nights continue. I toss and I turn. Reading doesn’t help. Beer doesn’t help. Brian’s snoring certainly doesn’t help. When I finally manage to fall asleep hours after I got into bed, one of the kids or the dog wakes me up. It’s torture! With Brian’s new commute I get an extra hour and a half of z’s but I am still struggling to get up in the morning. And while the pace of my short runs has been getting quicker, my workouts are barely 60 minutes and I am still taking an extra day off each week. I feel worn out and its negatively influencing my marathon training–mentally.

I’m not sure what I can do to get a good night’s sleep. I just know I don’t want to walk around like this anymore. I also know that this is why I don’t blog about things other than running–my posts would consist of whining and complaining juxtaposed with cute pictures of my kids napping with the dog. And all that gets old quick.

Today’s Workout:
Ran 3.3 miles/29:40
Upper Body Weights 30:00

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/09/2011 7:41 PM

    This post was a real snoozer. Zzzzzzzzzzzz…….
    Get back to blogging about running!

    • Suzanne permalink*
      09/09/2011 8:10 PM

      You’re a snoozer.

      • 09/10/2011 12:04 PM

        So I’m told by Greg, who frequently laments that I don’t whoop it up until 2 AM anymore. (unless, of course, the whooping involves getting all decked out in reflecty gear and running Midnight Madness) Instead I spent my Friday night drinking a few beers by myself and catching up on your blog posts. Oh for the days of dancing on the bar. Sigh.

        • Suzanne permalink*
          09/10/2011 1:24 PM

          I folded laundry last night and wore my beagle t-shirt to bed.

Leave a Reply

