Skip to content
Well. That was humbling.

08/31/2011

This morning I went to the high school pool which offers lap swim from 6:00-7:30 AM. I thought 3 bucks a pop was good deal and after a lengthy debate (because trying new things and I are not friends) I suited up. I’d like to swim a couple of times a week to get off my hip. Also, when this “lake effect snow” I keep hearing about makes running outside impossible, it would be nice to have another indoor option besides my stationary bike and Jillian Michaels DVDs. It was definitely a good workout and after a half hour I totally could have gone back to bed. Even though it is non-weight baring, swimming is a full-body exercise–perfect for someone with porcelain bones like me! But, of course, my first trip to the pool was not without its Suzanne-moments.

Humbling Moment #1: Justin Bieberish lifeguard at the door called me ma’am no less than 7 times. I only asked him 3 questions so he was definitely doubling up on his formal addresses (to make me feel old). You know the meow scene in Super Troopers? It was like that but with “ma’am.”

Humbling Moment #2: Sure I can run 16 miles but after 2 minutes of swimming I was WINDED. For a mortifying moment, I thought the cast of Wizards of Waverly Place that was manning the pool was going to have to jump in and save me.

Humbling Moment #3: During a pause between laps, the 70+ year-old-man next to me shouts “Finally! Someone that swims like me!” Apparently I swim like a septuagenerian with sinus problems (“That’s why I wear a nose plug, you see!”) who needs to keep a Ziploc of meds on the pool deck.

So, the glutton for punishment that I am, I will be back tomorrow.

Today’s Workout:
Swim 31:02

One Comment leave one →
  1. 11/25/2011 5:09 PM

    Swimming is hard. I went to the SJU pool once with a gal pal and after half a lap I thought I was going to drown.

Leave a Reply

