Skip to content
The Humpday Post

08/24/2011

I have been feeling very blah about my training lately. When I was still living in Pennsylvania, I was able to spring (ok, slowly roll) out of bed at 4:00 AM every morning to workout. Now waking up 5:30 seems like the hardest thing to do. I’ve kept my training together during the whole move, but now I am really starting to drag and it’s getting harder and harder to get motivated each morning. I’ve taken more off days than I’d care to, blaming the my long weekend runs for the fatigue but I wonder if I am just burning out. I am kinda glad that I bumped my marathon up two weeks because I really don’t know how much longer I can keep this training cycle up. It’s mentally and physically draining to focus so singularly on one event especially when that event seems so far off. If I had decided to do the Philadelphia Marathon I don’t think I would have made it to the end of November without losing my s.h. Obviously I wasn’t wired to appreciate the 20-week training plan because I am exhausted with a 14-weeker.

So I am really happy this weekend is a scale-back week. I have the Team Cure Tops 5K on Saturday which I am really excited about. We have a team of 14 runners and walkers assembled (not counting the little guys and gals who will be riding along in strollers) and have raised over$1100 so far for Roswell Park Cancer Institute in honor of my mother-in-law and all of our loved ones who are battling cancer. It should be a really fun morning–aside from the 5K there will be music, food, and raffles–but emotional too, as my mother-in-law is planning on being at the finish line to cheer us across. There is still time to help Team Macaulay by running, walking, or donating. As always, thank you for your support–it means more than words can express.

On Sunday I was going to do a 10-12 mile run but then I received an email that the local Fleet Feet store is hosting a trail run at the park in my town. I think it will be better for me mentally to do that. Since training has become somewhat of a drag lately, a morning on the trail should be just what I need to get back that lovin’ feeling.

And now it’s time for science! I know that some runners like to drink some coffee before a run. As much as I love my cup o’ joe, it can cause my GI tract to become, er, unpredictable so I avoid it pre-run. However, I have read that some ultrarunners drink Coke on the go and I wondered how that would work as a replacement for the Clif Mini Bar I usually eat before heading out the door (I cannot workout on an empty stomach and have to have a little nibble before getting my sweat on). I picked up a 8-pack of the 7.5 oz Coke cans this weekend and tested out my very vague theory Monday morning. It’s was kinda weird to be drinking soda at 5:30 in the morning and I opened the can all sneaky-like, as if my mom was going to bust in and yell things about destroying my gallbladder. I don’t know if I noticed a huge difference during my workout, but I did get a late-morning headache that I attributed to being over-tired. Yesterday was an off day so today was Day 2 of The Great Coke Experiment of 2011. When I was running my legs were sluggish turning over but my pace turned out to be way faster than I thought. But before I could brag about my newfound potential genius, I got another headache. I find it hard to believe that I would crash from a *measly* 25 grams of sugar and it could just be another tired headache (see first paragraph if you already forgot about my complaints of fatigue, and before you even suggest it NO, I am NOT pregnant). I have 6 more cans to go before I render my full verdict but if anyone else would like to test this Coke-thang out and let me know their thoughts, that would be cool and stuff.

Today’s Workout:
Ran 5 miles/45:38
Upper Body Weights 20:00
Abs 20:00

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

