Skip to content
New Additions

08/20/2011

Things I got yesterday: Nike Arm Warmers, another pair of those awesome Brooks Epiphany 2-in-1 Shorts, a box of Honey Stingers, a Nathan Shadow Pak, and a dog. Four of those things came from Running Warehouse and the other from Rescued Treasures Pet Adoptions. Can you guess which ones are from where?

With the marathon coming up in about 6ish weeks, I need to start thinking gear. It will only be early October so I don’t need to break out the Under Armour tights BUT it will be Oswego, NY in the fall. The gun goes off at 7:00 AM and it will definitely be a chilly start. I am always concerned about over/under dressing to the point of obsession, but this time around I think I got it down: short sleeve top, arm warmers, shorts/capris, my UA hat (DUH!), UA socks, and the Asics 2150‘s I’ve been training in. I haven’t decided if I am going to carry my handheld the whole time or have Brian hand it off to me when I hit the halfway point (the course is a double loop), but I am going to wear my new Pak for those delicious Honey Stingers.

I opted for short sleeves with arm warmers because it offers the best of both worlds. If it is hot, I can just pull them off and tuck them into the strap of my Pak. If it is cool, I can just leave them pulled up the whole time. Win-win. Plus, Kara Goucher wears them. I’m not sure if I am going to go with capris or shorts. I prefer shorts but worry about chafing wearing them for such a long distance. I’m going to test out my (new favorite) Brooks shorts during at least one of my 20 milers. I think the longer length (6″) might make the difference, but if I do get red and raw, I’ll just go with capris to be safe. Now let’s just hope I don’t start second (and third and fourth and fifth…) guessing myself and race day draws closer (and closer and closer and closer…).

If you’re going to be stocking up on gear soon, I highly recommend using Running Warehouse. Almost everything seems to be marked down right now and if you enter the code rwaug11 you’ll get an additional 10% off. I also got free shipping and my package arrived in 2 days. It’s like Back to School for runners, and it is never to early to start thinking about fall/winter gear especially at great prices.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

