Skip to content
My bike is homeless. Lonely, sad tear.

08/14/2011

Since we loaded my cross-training bestie into the UHaul almost 2 and a half weeks ago, my stationary bike has been displaced. She’s been sitting in the corner of the dining room patiently waiting for her new spot in her new home. But still today she has no spot and she is sad. (I am applying the literary device “personification” to my stationary bike. Impressed?)

The weather in Rochester has been mostly outstanding (aside from the couple of times I thought I might have to build an ark). The mornings are a cool 60-65 degrees and the afternoon high usually tops out at 80. Coming from Philly where triple digit temps were the norm this summer, Western New York is heaven. OF COURSE I can’t help but run outside every day! Not only is the current weather irresistible, I have to soak it in now before something my neighbors called “lake effect snow” arrives. So finding my bike her very own nook has not been a priority. I didn’t want to put her back in my room because I’d really like to get cozy armchair for the corner where I can curl up and read. I could put her up in the playroom/attic but we are getting the carpet replaced soon and I don’t want to make Brian keep lugging her up and down the stairs (both she and Brian are delicate!). Without a definite place for her, she has sat neglected.

After yesterday’s 16 miler I was sore and decided it would be a good day to cross-train. So I rolled my bike across the dining room and set up temporary shop in the living room. It’s not her forever spot, but it worked out ok for us today. I got  in 45 minutes of cardio and she got to feel some love again–because nothing says “love” like a sweaty butt. After some upper body weights and ab work, I chugged delicious chocolate banana smoothie and then ripped up a big chunk of my lawn with my bare hands (not in anger–I am making my garden bigger). Now I only need to shower, have a cup of coffee, and head to Keuka Lake for The Macaulay Family Vacation. 25 people in 2 cabins? Sounds like the recipe for a chaotic good time. Huzzah!

Today’s Workout:
Stationary Bike (level 3) 45:00/12.4 miles
Upper Body Weights 30:00
Abs 15:00

One Comment leave one →
  1. 11/24/2011 9:25 PM

    I’d like to hear more about this chocolate banana smoothie you speak of.

Leave a Reply

