Skip to content
Running Outside the Box

08/12/2011

The box is my neighborhood. And even though we runners call it a “loop,” if you ever mapped out the course you run through town, it is shaped like a box. Streets were not designed with runners in mind (all curved right-hand turns, wood chipped sidewalks, and a gentle downhill slope would be optimal). Most times we don’t realize how square (interpret both physically and figuratively) our daily runs are because they are convenient, safe, and accurately measured, and we are creatures of habit. But then you run on a trail, in the woods, up hills and over logs and you realize it’s time to bust out of the box.

There is nothing, NOTHING, that compares to the feeling of trail running. I’m talking real trail running–on dirt, grass, wood chips, gravel, sand, mud. Pavement and concrete do not apply–they are strictly relegated to the parking lot. When I run on trails (the number of times I could probably count on one hand since hanging up my cross-country spikes in 1995) I feel like I am flying. Even with the risky footing, I can’t help but kick it up a notch. The effort is effortless as I traipse through the woods like an overgrown kid. It can best be described as exhilarating.

And all trail runners share this joy. They cannot stop smiling as they power up rocky inclines and leap over giant tree roots. Compared them to the road runner who has a permanent grimace of pain on his face and an expletive for every garbage can or skateboard left blocking his path. But don’t underestimate this kinder, gentler running disposition. Trail runners are pretty badass. They traverse terrain that would make the best road racer huff and puff. Trail events are rarely 5K–they are double, triple, and many times quintuple that amount with the increasingly popular 50K distance. If you were to make a Venn Diagram of the trail running and ultra running communities, the two circles would almost completely overlap. So just because trail runners appear to be an eclectic group, with bandanna headbands and pockets stuffed with PB&J sandwiches, they’ll kick your butt. Do not be fooled by the homemade organic granola.

I’ve been itching to transition into this happy-go-lucky world of trail running for some time but was stymied by location, location, location. Sure Long Island and Philadelphia featured some old school trails, but they were by no means local. It was at least a 20 minute drive to the closest with most trail beds a good 45-60 minutes away. But up yonder, way way yonder, in Rochester/Western New York there are trails-a-plenty. And multiple trail running groups. And an extraordinary amount of cross-country races for those whose high school days are tucked firmly behind them. So among the list of move-in priorities, sandwiched between paint the dining room and paint the kitchen, was “get in on this trail running action.”

Yesterday I managed to suppress my anti-social tendencies and met up with a trail running group from Medved, a running and walking store in Rochester. The group meets Thursday evenings at 6:00 from March through September. Each week is run at a different park so you really get a chance to see the variety of local trails. Last night we met at Cobb Hill. It is located just off the 490 and took me about 10 minutes to get there even during the rush hour. Assembled was a group of 15 runners or so, all varying in age, experience, and ability. There were a few hydration packs, a couple of Garmins, but NO iPods which made me immediately endeared these strangers to me.

We started with a 5 minute warmup, looping around the base of the hill. The “leader” Dennis pointed out the start and finish of the park’s official cross-country course and gave us a brief description of the area we would be covering. We then double backed to the start and made our first pass up the hill. The hill was pretty big and all grass which is tougher to run on than pavement. I was definitely breathing hard when I hit the top. The group stopped to wait for everyone to catch up. My competitive side was a little annoyed to be stopping just 10 minutes into the run, but I did think it was nice to wait for everyone before heading into the trails and if I were a novice runner I would haved especially appreciated this gesture. Finally(!) we headed into the woods. Ahhhh! We twisted up and around the park, jumping, climbing, and carefully descending nature’s obstacles. My legs that felt heavy during our warmup now felt amazing! There were 7 in the lead pack and I was happy to see that 3 of us were women. Girl power!

After a bit we stopped to regroup and there was a little chit-chat. This time I didn’t mind the break–not because I was tired but because trail running melts my cold, unfriendly heart. We headed downhill and out of the trail to circle the base of the hill again. Dennis joked about going back up the hill, but when two of the guys decided to actually go for a second climb OF COURSE I peeled off from the group and went with them. It was definitely a lot harder the second time up, but when I reached the top I felt crazy badass. We took a hairpin downhill to meet the rest of the group (the less insane) who opted to finish the run on flat land. In total we covered a little over 4 fun miles.

When we reached the parking lot about half the group said their good-byes while the rest stayed to watch the race that would be starting soon. I figured I had time to watch the start and head home. Dennis and I chatted about the local cross-country scene and my marathon conundrum. He recommended I hook up with the Oven Door Runners, a group of long distance runners that meet every Saturday morning. Their runs range from 12 to 20 miles and are usually off the beaten path. He had a lot of great information about races and training groups, particularly trail running. I learned that Medved is also big into snowshoeing so I am excited to try that this winter. All in all it was a good night and I am really glad that I sucked it up and went–even though it meant talking to people. I will definitely join them again when we get back from The Macaulay Family Vacation at Keuka Lake.

Thursday’s Workout:
Trail Run 38:23/approx 4.3 miles

24 Comments leave one →
  1. 06/12/2014 3:21 PM

    Today, while I was at work, my cousin stole my iPad
    and tested to see if it can survive a 30 foot drop, just
    so she can be a youtube sensation. My iPad is now broken and
    she has 83 views. I know this is totally off topic but I had to
    share it with someone!

  2. 06/17/2014 3:19 AM

    There’s certainly a great deal to find out about this topic.
    I really like all of the points you have made.

  3. 06/18/2014 3:19 AM

    Great goods from you, man. I’ve have in mind your stuff previous to and you are simply extremely wonderful.
    I actually like what you’ve got right here, certainly like what you’re saying and the way in which
    in which you assert it. You’re making it entertaining and you
    continue to take care of to stay it wise. I cant wait to read much more from you.

    That is really a terrific website.

  4. 06/23/2014 2:19 AM

    Hi there, all is going perfectly here and ofcourse every one is
    sharing facts, that’s actually fine, keep up writing.

  5. 07/03/2014 5:14 PM

    Very rapidly this site will be famous among all blogging users, due to it’s nice
    posts

  6. 07/08/2014 12:08 AM

    I am actually grateful to the holder of this
    website who has shared this great article at at this time.

  7. 07/13/2014 1:25 AM

    This paragraph will assist the internet visitors for setting up new website or even a weblog from start to end.

  8. 07/17/2014 5:33 PM

    May I simply say what a relief to discover someone who genuinely understands what
    they’re discussing online. You certainly know how to bring a problem to light and make it important.

    A lot more people ought to check this out and understand this side of the story.
    I was surprised you’re not more popular since you definitely possess the gift.

  9. 07/22/2014 1:01 PM

    whoah this blog is excellent i like reading your articles. Keep up the good work!
    You recognize, lots of individuals are searching round for this info,
    you can aid them greatly.

  10. 07/23/2014 12:12 AM

    Do you mind if I quote a couple of your posts as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog?
    My blog is in the very same area of interest as yours and
    my users would really benefit from some of the information you present here.
    Please let me know if this okay with you. Thank you!

  11. 07/23/2014 9:36 AM

    Suddenly you will be the main reason why? Microsoft Flight Simulator FSX Traffic
    dayz download is the PS1. So, Why Is The Xbox
    360, and there is a character in the image
    in the beginning of their video games on the market.

  12. 07/23/2014 8:34 PM

    Hey There. I discovered your blog using msn. This
    is a very neatly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and come back to learn more
    of your useful info. Thank you for the post.
    I will certainly return.

  13. 07/24/2014 8:36 PM

    It’s really very complicated in this full of activity life to listen news
    on TV, thus I just use world wide web for that purpose, and
    take the most up-to-date information.

  14. 08/02/2014 2:35 AM

    Join a club to receive a free poster that measures at twelve inches in width.

    ViolenceOften, there is a great extent. Snead said that that we realize their positive benefits.
    Area hay day hack defender Android Analysis universe Note 2 and our
    wonderful collectible fantasy swords. 99-67 00
    USD, I want with that game enthusiasts can be bought.

  15. 08/05/2014 10:04 AM

    Hello everybody, here every one is sharing such familiarity, thus
    it’s pleasant to read this weblog, and I used to pay a visit this website all the time.

  16. 08/20/2014 2:32 AM

    So you just received’t do dog training without his owner.
    Yet, there is such a thing or two about the training method.
    It will likewise be great when teaching a young age 4-14 weeks, which emphasizes praising a dog to do the” choke”.

  17. 08/20/2014 8:21 AM

    This site was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me.
    Cheers!

  18. 08/27/2014 4:29 AM

    Heya i’m for the first time here. I found this board and I find
    It truly useful & it helped me out much. I hope to give something back and aid others
    like you aided me.

  19. 08/28/2014 6:37 PM

    Greate post. Keep posting such kind of info on your blog.

    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hey there, You’ve done an excellent job. I’ll definitely digg it
    and in my view recommend to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited
    from this website.

  20. 09/04/2014 12:18 AM

    We stumbled over here by a different page and thought I may as well check things out.

    I like what I see so i am just following you.
    Look forward to going over your web page repeatedly.

  21. 09/08/2014 4:59 PM

    You should be a part of a contest for one of the
    highest quality sites on the web. I most certainly will recommend this blog!

  22. 09/17/2014 6:37 PM

    Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your weblog and wanted to say that I have
    really enjoyed surfing around your blog posts.
    After all I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope
    you write again very soon!

  23. 09/23/2014 6:12 PM

    I was suggested this website by my cousin. I’m not
    sure whether this post is written by him as no one else know such detailed about my problem.
    You are incredible! Thanks!

  24. 10/13/2014 3:41 AM

    It’s perfect time to make some plans for the future and
    it’s time to be happy. I’ve read this post and if I could I wish to suggest you few interesting
    things or tips. Maybe you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I wish to read even more things about it!

Leave a Reply

