Skip to content
More Kettle Bell!

07/13/2011

Today was a snooze button day. I think I hit it 6 times before finally rolling out of bed at 4:25. I have so many mosquito bites from my camping weekend that I could not fall asleep last night! I’m working on about 4 hours of sleep but I still cranked out a 2-hour workout this morning. Wonder what time I will completely crash today…?

Because it is the summer, I don’t have to get everyone showered, dressed and out the door by 7:30, so if I do oversleep (like this morning) I can work out later than during the school year. I still have to be back from my run or the gym by 6:00 because Brian has a train to catch, but not having to hustle the kids into the minivan has given me the chance to try out a whole bunch of workout DVDs available on ExerciseTV. I’ve already raved about my new favorite The Butt Bible, but not all of them are hits. I am trying to step out of my exercise “comfort zone” and try new routines, but when I end up doing one I don’t care for, I feel like I’ve wasted time–time I could have spent getting in a *real* workout. For example, I’m not a fan of the 10 Minute Solution workouts. By the time the instructor has you warmed-up, she’s cooling you down. There’s no “meat” to them and they rarely offer challenging moves.

One trainer who never disappoints is Jillian Michaels. Although I enjoy some of her DVDs more than others she has done, they all work me hard and make me sweat like crazy! Today I decided to give Shred-It With Weights a try. I had bought this DVD when it first came out because I have a kettle bell but don’t really know what to do with it other than swings, squats, and grabs. Before I took the cellophane off of it, I read a review online that was less than positive. In fact, amazon.com was full of scathing reviews of this workout. I ended up returning it unopened, bought a Jackie Warner DVD, and my kettle bell continued to collect dust in the corner of my bedroom.

My dad recently became kettle bell certified through his job and keeps raving about what a full-body burn it is (my words, not his, my dad doesn’t say things like “full-body burn”), so I decided to give Shred-It with Weights a(nother) try–especially since it was now being offered free OnDemand. The level 1 workout was just about 28 minutes long and definitely got my heart rate up. Using a kettle bell is almost like cardio with weights because you are using the momentum of your core to execute the moves. It is very different from the static stances you employ working with free weights or weight machines. So much so that it barely feels like you are “lifting” weights at all and I’ll have to wait until tomorrow to see how sore (if at all) my arms are.

Overall, I liked it. I want to learn more about effectively working out with kettle bells and I know I need to look beyond this DVD. Jillian is admittedly new to kettle bells, and many of the criticisms of this workout were that she doesn’t use the correct terminology and her technique is not always correct. Form is very important with kettle bells because the risk of injury is high. Also, I was paranoid I was going to let go of the kettle bell and it would sail right into Brian’s big screen TV. Somehow I think he’d be less understanding than he was during The Great Wii Tennis Incident of 2011.

Today’s Workout:
Lower Body Weights 25:00
Upper Body Weights 30:00
Stationary Bike (level 3) 30:00/8.3 miles
Jillian Michaels Shred It with Weights Level 1 28:00
Sit-ups 10:00

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 11/15/2011 4:28 AM

    I can’t get over how early you get up to exercise. Yes, I’m awake at 4 am now, but that was my newborn’s choice not mine. I wish I had your dedication.

    • Suzanne permalink*
      11/15/2011 1:44 PM

      That was in PA. Now I get up between 5 and 6 depending. So lazy!

Leave a Reply

