Skip to content
1216

07/07/2011

My new favorite number! A number I will own with pride because it is my official membership number for the Half Fanatics! Although I ran my qualifying half marathon on 6/26, I wasn’t officially accepted to the Half Fanatics until 7/5. But now I am a full-fledged member of the Asylum, as the member so affectionately call it, will full-fledged bragging rights!

The Half Fanatics is an online community of runners who, as you may have deduced, love the half marathon. However, an extreme fondness for the 21K is not enough to grant one membership. Runners must meet certain criteria to join this group of semi-crazy runners (I say “semi” because the full-on insane are part of the Marathon Maniacs).

Becoming a Half Fanatic was not originally a goal of mine. I had heard of it through running message boards and on facebook, but never paid much attention. I assumed that any half marathon streak that would qualify me would be out of reach. It was only when Sarah Bowen Shea, one of my favorite running bloggers and co-author of Run Like a Mother, embarked on her springtime quest to join the Asylum that I took another look at the qualifying standards. Already registered for the Long Island Half Marathon (5/1) and the Buffalo Half Marathon (5/29), I would only need one more to reach Neptune, the lowest moon (level) of the Fanatics.

I knew another half marathon would be tough to come by as we headed into the hot summer months, and when I looked for races in New York I came up empty. However, when I searched Pennsylvania on MarathonGuide.com (which is a GREAT resource, by the way), I found the 1/2 Sauer 1/2 Kraut Half Marathon. Held at nearby Pennypack Park in late-June, it was perfect and I registered immediately. When I crossed the finish line on 6/26, I was unofficially a Fanatic!

Although no one loves a matching t-shirt more than I, completing 3 half marathons in 57 days (plus a 10 mile race in April) means more to me than being able to sport the Fanatic Gear while out on the roads (even though that is a total perk). When I suffered my stress fracture in November of 2006, I took being sidelined really hard. The injury took a very long time to heal and by the time I got the go-ahead to start training again, I got pregnant with Sean. Then I was pregnant with Amelia 5 months after Sean was born and a comeback seemed more and more implausible. Hormonal, sleep deprived, and almost 90 pounds heavier, I truly believed that my “running life” was over.

But after Amelia was born my parents gave me the best gift ever–a double jogger. I never felt so free! Not only could I leave the house with a newborn and 17-month-old, but I could exercise! It was the middle of a very snowy winter so taking the babies outside was impossible. Each morning after I dropped Madylin off at school, I headed to the mall to workout alongside the senior citizens (who took a real liking to Sean). Open early for walkers, I did lap after lap of the Springfield Mall. As soon as the weather broke, I headed outside. My walks turned into jogs which turned into runs and signing up for 5Ks wasn’t too far behind! I was back to a place I’d never thought I would be! And despite being sidelined for 12 weeks last summer with bursitis and a stress reaction in my right hip, 17 months after Amelia was born I became a Half Fanatic!

So as I zoom around town in my Half Fanatic tech tee, I am not just bragging about logging all those miles. I am wearing the accomplishment of the long and bumpy road back. Being #1216 feels pretty darn good.

Today’s Workout:
Stationary Bike (Strength Intervals level 8) 45:00/13.0 miles
Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred Level 1 27:00
Butt Bible Lower 2 33:00

3 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/08/2011 12:57 PM

    Welcome to the Asylum, Suzanne. Glad my post clued you in to Neptune level.

    I dreamt the other night you roadtripped from PA to see me in Oregon “:>)

    • Suzanne permalink*
      07/08/2011 2:20 PM

      Thank you and thank you!

      Was a dream or a nightmare that ended in a restraining order? Maybe one day I will actually leave Eastern Standard Time and visit where the real runners run!

  2. 11/15/2011 4:15 AM

    Your blog almost makes me want to run.

Leave a Reply

