Skip to content
Coming Clean

07/02/2011

I’m a cheater. And I am going to declare it publicly on this public blog (that only my mom reads… sometimes). I ran to the gym today. And back home. Even though I swore on my autographed copy of Run Like a Mother that I was not going to run for 2 weeks. It’s only been 1 week. I ran. I lied. And I cheated. For shame.

BUT in my defense:
1) The gym is only 0.85 miles from my house.
2) Running to the gym was the greener option because maybe it is high time I was more concerned about my carbon footprint!
3) Uh, well, er, um… who needs a 3rd reason? It felt awesome to run!

My hip felt pretty good in this teaser of a run this morning. I am (cautiously) optimistic that with another week of rest (I mean it this time!!!), I should be ok to comfortably return to running 3 days a week.

…And I just need to ignore the set of running clothes I packed to bring to Long Island this weekend.

Despite sneaking my Asics in to my suitcase, I am looking forward to my rest day tomorrow. My muscles are exhausted! I have been trying to vary my cross training because bike and weights and bike and weights with an occasional go on the elliptical can get pretty stale pretty fast. I know that I really need to strength train, so I have been adding in a lot of workouts DVDs that focus on weight and circuit training. I don’t care for traditional exercise DVDs that over-emphasize cardio and have silly dance routines. Thankfully I have been able to find several that I really enjoy. My favorites include No More Trouble ZonesBanish Fat Boost Metabolism, and 30 Day Shred (Jillian Michaels); One-on-One Training with Jackie, Xtreme Timesaver Training, and Xtreme Crunchless Abs (Jackie Warner); and Ab Ripper X and Yoga X (P90X). They are often available On Demand from your cable provider or you can borrow them from your local library–always try before you buy so you aren’t stuck with a workout you can’t stand to do!

The variety of trainers and routines has definitely helped stave off boredom and I feel sore after working out, which I haven’t really felt in a while. The workouts that totally kicked my butt this week (LITERALLY) were from The Butt Bible. I blogged earlier this week about Pauline Nordin’s new DVD which is quickly becoming my new favorite. So far I have done Lower 1 and Lower 2. I planned to try Lower 3 this week, but my glutes and inner thighs needed a break! Nordin’s personality is great–so upbeat–and her constant chatter throughout the workout is a fun distraction from the endless reps of searing squats, lunges, and bridges. Definitely try it out!

And whether you are on the trails or roads, at the gym, pool, or beach I wish everyone a safe 4th of July weekend!
Friday’s Workout:
Elliptical (level 3) 15:00/1.64 miles
Upper Body Weights (machines) 25:00
Elliptical (level 3) 15:00/1.7 miles
Upper Body Weights (dumbbells) 25:00
Elliptical (level 4) 15:00/1.67 miles

Today’s Workout:
Stationary Bike (Strength Intervals level 8) 30:00/8.4 miles
Run to gym 7:34/0.85 miles
Elliptical (level 3) 30:00/3.25 miles
Lower Body Weights 30:00
Run home 7:40/0.85 miles

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 07/02/2011 12:44 PM

    Um, I read this blog too! Even when you don’t mention me in it.

    • Suzanne permalink*
      07/02/2011 12:59 PM

      Well then I have 2 loyal (too strong?) readers, and 1 reluctant (Brian). I sit at this computer corrected. Protein packed egg on my face!

      By the by, I super love your avatar. Is that really nerdy to say?

Leave a Reply

