Skip to content
Not to betray Jillian, but…

06/23/2011

Usually I can’t get a good night’s sleep because I have 20 tiny toes burrowing between my vertebrae. But it was my aching calves that kept me awake last night, and not the diabolical feet of a 2 1/2-year-old and an 18-month-old. That Jillian Michaels Banish Fat Boost Metabolism certainly did a number on my fast-twitch muscles! And by the time I did catch some z’s, it seemed like my 4:30 AM alarm was already going off. Blerg.

I did drag myself out of bed (after hitting the snooze button… twice) for an easy 5-miler. Although my lower legs were crampy the night before, it was my quads and hip flexors that were sore during today’s run. Feeling fatigued, I quickly started re-evaluating my workout plans for tomorrow–do I skip the bike and just do weights or do I skip the weights altogether and just do yoga or do I skip working out entirely and rest both Friday and Saturday? While I don’t have a set time goal for Sunday’s half marathon, I don’t want to completely dog it for 13.1 miles.

Vowing to not make any rash decisions under the influence of extreme humidity (it’s a swamp out there today, folks!), I am just going to play it by ear and see how I feel tomorrow morning. I am leaning towards a gentle yoga routine to help stretch everything out. I did, however, finish today’s planned workout, following my run with some ab work including One-on-One Training with Jackie: Core.

Jackie Warner is seriously badass, maybe even tougher than Jillian. While I have had to do modifications on both of their exercises, Jackie’s Xtreme Timesaver Training is the only workout to ever reduce me to tears. Jackie’s DVDs are not as polished as some other ones on the market (for example: she does not transition well between exercises so your first 1 or 2 times through you may miss a rep while getting the correct form), they offer killer workouts that won’t take up the whole morning. Jackie also doesn’t waste time with chit chat and excessive instruction–you are working the entire time, which I really like. If you have 15-20 minutes to squeeze in a workout, trade in your Jillian for some Jackie. Your abs will thank me. (Jackie Warner sidenote: I also highly recommend her book This Is Why You’re Fat.)

Today’s Workout:
Ran 5 miles 47:52
One on One Training with Jackie: Core 20:00
P90X AB Ripper X 15:00
Nicole Stewart Pilates Abs 10:00

And just a little shoutout to my fellow Roswell Park fundraiser, Jill! She is participating in the Ride for Roswell this Saturday, June 25, 2011. It is not too late to support her team. Please considering donating, and if you are in the Buffalo-area, come out and cheer on everyone peddling for a good cause! Thank you!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

