Skip to content
My Gal Pals, Kara and Jillian

06/22/2011

Just because today was a non-running day doesn’t mean I wasn’t think about running oh, say, every other second of the day. Thoughts of trail runs dancing through my head keep me sane as I endlessly vacuum up Lucky Charms. But when I am able to grab a vacuum-less moment, I have been reading Kara Goucher’s Running for Women. Kara Goucher is one of my running heroes. Ever since I watched her almost upset Paula Radcliffe in her marathon debut at the 2008 NYC Marathon, I was a super fan. During her pregnancy last year, Kara still kept running but her training was not quite as rigorous and she used that extra time to compile her knowledge and experience for beginner and veteran runners alike.

I am about halfway through Running for Women, and I am really enjoying it. While it is definitely geared toward the novice runner, more experienced runners will still find loads of useful information. But most importantly, the book is accessible. Many running books written by professional athletes talk down to the reader and can leave the non-elite feeling (almost) discouraged. Kara Goucher, on the other hand, is everyone’s biggest cheerleader and offers practical advice both for getting started and for taking your training to the next level. Her “You can do it!” attitude is infectious, making Running for Women a must-read for newbies and, er, oldies!

This oldie (duh–me!) hit the gym at 4:45 AM for some weight training today. I did 30 minutes of lower body weights, concentrating on the adductors and abductors. Weak hips and core was the main culprit behind my overuse injuries and since October I have been making a concerted effort to strengthen these area. I also made sure to hit the glutes, hams, quads, and calves before moving on to 30 minutes of upper body weights. I used 5 and 10 lb dumbbells today and did a set of tricep dips between each exercise. Gotta make sure I don’t get those old lady bat wings!

After the gym, I was going to do Jillian Michaels No More Trouble Zones, a really tough full-body workout. Because it’s 55:00 long I haven’t done it in a while but because I don’t have to get Mady up and off to school for the next 3 months, I have a little more time in the mornings. However, at the last minute, I decided to try Blast Fat Boost Metabolism. Wow–what a workout! It was almost an hour of cardio, plyometrics, and calisthenics that engaged all muscle groups and kept the heart rate pumping. It was similar to Jillian’s other DVDs in that it was broken down into circuits; each circuit had 5 moves repeated twice. What set it apart from Jillian’s other DVD is that it didn’t use any hand weights and it was not strength-training based. Because of all the dynamic jumps, hops, and kicks Banish Fat Boost Metabolism would make an excellent cross training workout for runners looking to increase their speed. I definitely plan on doing it again!
Today’s Workout:
Lower Body Weights 30:00
Upper Body Weights 30:00
Jillian Michaels Banish Fat Boost Metabolism 54:00

Tomorrow I’ll be back out on the roads, my last run before Sunday’s half marathon!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 11/14/2011 5:37 PM

    Just reading this makes me tired.

Leave a Reply

