Skip to content
TRACK!!!

06/21/2011

I hate track workouts. Hate them. Hate hate hate them. Why? Because they hurt. But no workout gives you more bang for your buck than track workouts. Sure you will see a difference with your long runs, particularly your endurance, but those changes are over a longer period of time. Start hitting the track once a week and there will be a noticeable difference when you toe the line at your next 5K. You’ll guarantee yourself a PR in exchange for short but painful repeats.

Because of past overuse injuries, I am far more conservative with my training than I used to be. Instead of pounding the pavement 6-7 days a week, I run 3 days a week and cross train 3. But in order to make up for the lack of mileage, I need to make each workout count. It’s the quality VS quantity argument made in Run Less, Run Faster–eliminate the junk miles that can just lead to injuries and instead run with a purpose. I know all this–I read the book–so I need to stop complaining about my race times and hit the track consistently (key word: consistently).

So after a semi-disappointing 5K Sunday I found myself heading out for a track workout at 5:00 AM this morning–the first track workout since March (see: consistency). I ran the 2 miles to the high school track as a warm-up. My hip, although totally fine during my race this weekend, felt a little funky but nothing alarming. But my fear of injury combined with my fear of speed work made me decide on 200 repeats with a 200 recovery in between. It went pretty well, although my splits were a lot slower than the 200’s I did back in March. My friend Steph was with me at that workout and you always push harder at the track with other people there. Either way I was proud to have done a track workout before most people are even awake.

Today’s Workout:
2 mile warm-up 19:32
8 x 200 with 200 recovery 0:46, 0:47, 0:46, 0:46, 0:49, 0:46, 0:47, 0:47
2 mile cool down 19:51
P90X Ab Ripper X 15:00
Jillian Michaels 30 Day Shred (level 1) 27:00

If you are thinking about heading out for a speed workout, please read this article on track etiquette. Don’t live near a track or can’t stand running in circles? There are other ways to improve your pace including fartleks, intervals, and tempo runs as described on this page. Good luck and may Pre be with you!

One Comment leave one →
  1. 11/14/2011 5:26 PM

    As a non-runner, I can’t think of anything worse than a track workout. Props to you for doing it and sticking with it.

Leave a Reply

