Skip to content
Why I’m Running for Roswell

06/15/2011

10 months ago I never heard of Roswell Park Cancer Institute. Then our friend’s daughter who was only 3 months old was diagnosed with cancer. She began treatments at Roswell Park and today she is a happy, healthy, thriving toddler!

I wanted to honor Camryn and all those fighting–and beating!–cancer, so when I saw that YMCA Turkey Trot 8K was an event that raised money for Roswell Park, I did some investigating. Through the Team Cure Challenge, individuals or teams could raise money that goes directly to research and patient care at Roswell–all the money stays local! I quickly recruited a team and the fundraising began!

With a big cheering section, 3 of us ran the Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving morning and raised over $1375! When Baby Camryn was there to greet us at the finish line, it was truly one of my proudest moments. My hope is that Team Camryn will become an annual tradition, bringing family and friends together to celebrate this adorable little girl!

Sadly, my mother-in-law was diagnosed with cancer earlier this spring. She too is receiving treatment at Roswell Park. Feeling helpless, I once again turned to the Team Cure Challenge and found the Tops 5K/10K Run/Family Walk. This was the perfect event! Open to runners and walkers (and stroller friendly), I was able to easily recruit family and friends and Team Macaulay was born! Together we are participating in honor of my mother-in-law and her courageous fight.

Finally, I had decided that 2011 was going to be the year I finally ran a marathon. Originally I had planned on training for the Rochester Marathon. At the same time I worried I would not have adequate time to train over the summer, I received literature from Team Cure in the mail advertising the Niagara Falls International Marathon. Again–the perfect event! Scheduled for late-October I would not only have time to get in those long runs, but I would could once again have the honor of raising money for Roswell Park Cancer Institute.

I created this blog to have all my Team Cure events listed in one place. I also plan on updating everyone on my training and race results. Please consider donating to any of my events. All money raised through participation in Team Cure events goes directly to Roswell Park and the wonderful work they do.  Thank you!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

